We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistent-first class welcome & service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Barley Mow

The Barley Mow
Penn Common | Pennwood Lane, Wolverhampton WV4 5JN, England
+44 1902 333510
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 361 Restaurants in Wolverhampton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: A warm and welcoming family pub, serving home cooked food and an excellent range of local and national real ales.
Wolverhampton
1 review
“Consistent-first class welcome & service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Always a pleasure to visit this pub, to relax with friends for a drink or to have a really delicious meal. This friendly pub strikes the perfect balance of preserving our much-loved traditional ale-serving establishments alongside the demand for quality meals. The welcoming service is always outstanding, even during the busiest of times. The range of real ales is professionally managed and are a joy to drink! (I used to like lager!!)
The meals are very substantial, offering a tasty, home-cooked flavour with fresh accompaniments to enhance the meals at no extra cost (most choices come as part of the main meal). I have no complaints about the many meals I have had in this unique pub.
The atmosphere that prevails in this pub is so relaxed and different that I can honestly say that if I had family or friends visiting Wolverhampton I would definitely take them to the Barley Mow.
I also appreciate the fact that walkers and dogs are made very welcome at the pub - thank you!!
And finally but NOT least the Ladies Toilets are always so clean are well looked after.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    39
    5
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tipton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very regular customer. Love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Just thought I'd write a review after my visit to the Barley Mow last weekend. As a regular here, I feel its long overdue! As always, the food was lovely, portion sizes are excellent for the money and everything down to the side salad is prepared with care and consideration.

Staff are polite and professional but know how to crack a smile/joke.

It can sometimes be a little busy at the weekend, especially on a Friday or Saturday evening...if you're trying it for the first time and it appears busy, please wait for a table...it will definitely be worth it!

Honestly can't fault the place. A****

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lovely quiet traditional English pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Food was excellent, normal to pricey but it was delicious. Quiet in the actual pub but it was half 1 in afternoon. Staff friendly and polite

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coseley, null, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“lovely Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My partner and I decided to visit this pub late one Sunday afternoon for a drink. It was that nice we decided to have Sunday lunch and pudding. The beef dinner was lovely and the pudding was delightful. We sat outside to eat and it was so relaxing we could have stayed there all night. It's in a lovelt setting and the building is old and quirky. Will definitely go again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good fayre and drinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Visited recently and found food to be of good standard. Pleasant setting Good range of beers. Service a little slow but we were not in a hurry. You will not be disappointed if you enjoy pub lunches and the like. The rump steak was big and juicy. You have to accept that this is an old building and that means it has its limitations in size and so feels cramped in side. The tables could also do with a good clean but a popular place so that should not deter you b

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Barley Mow also viewed

Wolverhampton, West Midlands
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
 
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
 

Been to The Barley Mow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Barley Mow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.