We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely place and good Gluten Free!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Oaken Arms

The Oaken Arms
Holyhead Road | Codsall, Wolverhampton WV38 2HX, England
01902 847342
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #185 of 373 Restaurants in Wolverhampton
Price range: $11 - $25
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Take an off the beaten track location in Oaken, a menu bursting with fresh seasonal dishes and a cellar full of real ales and fine wines and you have the ingredients for the perfect country pub and restaurant. It's a winning formula of traditional mixed with a few contemporary touches that makes The Oaken Arms a special place to visit.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“What a lovely place and good Gluten Free!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

A friend and I went late on a Sunday afternoon on spec because it looked nice as we were driving past. And we weren't disappointed, it's lovely inside, a good atmosphere and good for couples or families. I asked for the gluten free menu (not expecting much, as it's always a trial...) and was presented with a large, comprehensive menu. At this point I realised it was a Vintage Inn, and they have worked very hard to accommodate food intolerances). I had the hunters chicken with chips and roast parsnips, smashing, hot, and plenty of it. My friend had the beef and yorkshire pud and it looked smashing. My lemon meringue dessert was massive and delicious, my friend had the Sussex Pond Pudding and loved it. The service was good and very friendly.

Nice place for an informal meal or a celebration. Strongly recommended.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    38
    22
    19
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A disappointing experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We visited the Oaken Arms on a mid-week night. Although it did not appear to be that busy, the main course took almost an hour to be served (thankfully we had ordered some bread and olive oil/ balsamic vinegar to eat while we waited). When the main course did arrive, the chips were cold, the vegetarian cheese pie was burnt and the pastry was hard. The steak was good, but there was a problem with the bill when we came to pay the 'tab'. Overall, this was a disappointing experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“needn't have worried”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Was treated to Mothers day lunch and having looked at some recent reviews I was a little worried. However, on arrival, despite the place being heaving with diners, we were shown to our table immediately. This wasn't the case for all as some diners from previous sittings were lounging at their tables. Service was friendly and efficient. Choice of menus from the standard menu, Sunday special or Mothers Day lunch; I had duo of Venison from standard menu and it was delicious, really impressed with this dish. My husband had the braised pork belly from the Mothers Day menu, again, really good - very tasty, delicious. Good puds too, i had Sussex pond pudding - lovely lemony flavour - balanced between sharp and sweet, Hubby had raspberry creme brulee, again very enjoyable. Sorry to read that others have not had such a good experience but absolutely no complaints from us today.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“When will someone sort out this pub!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Dreadful!!!
Will certainly NOT be visiting again.......This pub was previously the Foaming Jug, serving poor food. After a name change and a make-over it then became the Oaken Arms. We visited twice and had pleasant meals. On the third visit the food was very disgusting.Our starter of soup was sent back as it was served cold. The mains were ordered with a cauliflower cheese that never arrived.The main course was also cold at which point we decided to settle the bill and leave.We did ask to speak to the manager,but were told he had left the premises. This could be a really busy pub as the interiors are cosy with a nice atmosphere let down by the terrible food.Is anyone ever going to sort it out!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Midday Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Dropped in for a midday meal on Saturday 2nd March (2013), Easily accessible off A41 with good car park with a number of spaces for Disabled Parking. Old world interior but looked clean and reasonably smart. Open fires with some chairs nearby for lounging and for those just having a drink. Staff were all helpful and welcoming.
Eating areas had comfortable seating and tables without being 'plush'. Menu with good range of choices as well as daily specials (although these were not overly obvious once seated in the eating area). Flame-grilled dishes also on the menu with choice of different steaks and some game. To balance things out, a fair number of vegeterian meals on the menu as well as on the 'specials blackboard'. Midweek lunches advertised at £6-95. There were a few children eating with their parents while we were there and as there is plenty of space about everyone looked relaxed. There were ample quiet corners to be had for those who wanted a bit more seclusion.
The food we had seemed freshly cooked and well-prepared as well as being simply but quite nicely presented. Food looked OK and and the three of us all thought it tasted good too! We experienced no delays in service and we were asked at the end of the meal if everything was OK - so all good points in their favour!
From our lunchtime experience on a reasonably busy Saturday this is a decent place offering a good selection of good meals.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Oaken Arms also viewed

Wolverhampton, West Midlands
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
 
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
 

Been to The Oaken Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oaken Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.