We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, good location, good food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ardington Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Worthing
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Ardington Hotel
Save
You added The Ardington Hotel to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Steyne Gardens, Worthing BN11 3DZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Worthing
Horsham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good hotel, good location, good food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Recently stayed for a couple of days in this hotel - most enjoyable! It is well-managed, with friendly and helpful staff and in a good location close to the seafront. Our Premium Twin room (overlooking Steyne Gardens) had a pleasant colour scheme, comfortable beds and a cosy sitting area in the window alcove. Bathroom was sparklingly clean with generous-sized towels. Breakfast had the usual buffet selection, with hot dishes to order (and the omelettes and waffles were particularly good). We had both evening meals in the Indigo restaurant and found the food good and well-presented, with plenty of local fish on offer.
All in all, we would be happy to recommend this hotel. Definitely three-star superior!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    88
    22
    11
    6
See reviews for
46
67
26
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I stay here for about 4 weeks while on a business trip. This is a nice hotel, although the traditional rooms could do with some upgrades. The staff at this hotel are ready friendly and very helpful. Every time, I had an problems they were always quick to help. This is the best hotel in Worthing. The manager offered to bring in an extra table lamp because I wanted my room to be brighter. The restaurant in this hotel is absolutely good. The food is so tasty.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Stayed here just for the one night on business. I was impressed by the friendly welcome and slick check in on arrival. My room was ample size, clean and not bad overall value. It was a warm evening and air con would have been welcomed, although there was a fan in the room. Location good for the town and the promenade. About 15-20 minutes walk from the train station, but pretty easy to find. Breakfast very acceptable and the staff courteous. So overall not a bad stay and I will have no reservations about using again on my next visit to Worthing

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed here for one night in June as it seemed to be an ideal hotel for a friends wedding that was happening just down the road. We were quite excited about our stay having looked at the reviews and various photos on the hotel website, it looked like a nice boutique hotel at a reasonable price for the area.

Unfortunately however, upon entry to our room, we soon realised this wasn't the case. Our room was a very small, dated, run down box with a tiny window overlooking the kitchen roof. The room was nothing like the majority of the photos suggested and it became apparent that for £116 a night we were getting nothing better than a basic travel lodge style room.

To cut a long story short, we spoke to various hotel representatives who were to their credit very friendly and helpful. However, they were not able to do anything as the hotel was full but in the morning they did offer us a very small refund and paid for our parking.

The manager did also send us an email but rather than just apologising and empathising with our situation he decided to come across very defensive and would not accept that the website might of misrepresented their rooms.

Be very wary of booking one of there basic rooms, you do not get value for money and would be far better staying at the travel lodge for half the price. Breakfast was very nice and most of the staff are friendly.

Room Tip: Ask to check your room before you accept it and certainly do not accept room 36
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Spent glorious sunny weekend at Ardington Hotel in Worthing. Warm sunshine always helps but the staff at Ardington were delightful, efficient and professional. We managed to get the last double room, hotel was busy but staff had time to make us comfortable and welcome. Ardington Hotel has the best quality toilet roll that we have experienced this year., bravo for not compromising quality toilet roll, it makes such a difference. Hotel and Worthing made us so welcome and lots of interests within walking distance of hotel. Thank you

Room Tip: Mini fridge is available in room for fresh milk and water, perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancs
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights ,a good hotel staff excellent, nothing to much trouble accommodation was ok room does need a little makeover ,food very good and plenty of it,
Don't holiday in England so can,t compare it with other hotels .
Location very good was down in bowling competition

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The hotel accomodation is very nice with sufficient space for the travellers needs.
Our bathroom was very nicely decorated the tiling being really attractive, the slight
downside is the bath/shower could be updated as getting the correct temperature
was not easy and switching from bath to shower we could never work out how.
This hotel prides itself with the quality of the Restaurant, the decor is excellant
the menu and food likewise, breakfast was really good... The bar/lounge area is
very comfortable with a good choice of drinks from beers to cocktails... the staff
are obviously given good training and are of a high quality in serving the guests
in a polite and efficient manner...
Downside is that parking is on street with permit but not easy to find at peak times.
Views from the rear rooms is Zero and the front situated rooms can be noisy from
passing traffic.
Have stayed there for many years and keep going back which proves the point.

Room Tip: Some rooms can be very hot so check on this. As referred to above the rear rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ardington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ardington Hotel

Address: Steyne Gardens, Worthing BN11 3DZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Worthing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Worthing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ardington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Also Known As:
Ardington Hotel Worthing
The Ardington Hotel Worthing, West Sussex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ardington Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.