We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spicy and Delicious” 4 of 5 stars
Review of OM restaurant

OM restaurant
67 Rowlands Road, Worthing BN11 3JN, England
+44 1903 233300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 256 Restaurants in Worthing
Price range: $5 - $17
Cuisines: Nepali
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Om Restaurant is a bright and friendly neighbourhood restaurant on the Rowlands Road in Worthing. Serving sumptuous, authentic Nepalese/fusion cuisine. Om has a beautiful calm interior with aubergine and cream walls and subtle wooden & leather furniture, and is perfect for laid-back curries with friends and family or a business dinner. The extensive menu has varied vegetarian options, and favourite dishes include the Khasi Tang, lamb / chicken momo ( steamed Nepalese dumpling served with traditional tomato pickle. Why not try the Chicken Choila, if you like something spicy, or a Samundri Mismas if you just wish to savour the flavour like no other. There are plenty of Chulo dishes too: Try our Chulo Maachha: Grilled whole trout or a Chulo Raja Zhinga; King Prawns marinated in herbs and spices grilled in the tandoor oven served on a hot sizzling plate and served with a side salad.You can also enjoy OM experience at HOME with our takeaway or a home delivery service. We cater for parties in your own venue or at the restaurant. Sunday buffet is an amazing opportunity to try out different dishes, as it changes every week. So come and enjoy with family and friends, we look forward to serving you with a smile.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Spicy and Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Not a great 'indian' fan and can't really be bothered with the standard fare so this has been perfect for us - Nepalese cuisine with interesting combinations always fresh tasting and unusual - am working through the menu - excellent value. Staff quiet and attentive.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    26
    4
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Lovely Takeaways, Lovely people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

I love Asian food whether it is Indian, Chinese, Thai and in this case Nepalese. I start by saying this because a lot of people I speak to express this restaurant as the Indian at the west end of Rowlands Road. Im sure marketing wise it is easier for the owners just to say to the average Brit 'yes we are an Indian restaurant' Admittedly if you are tanked up after a night out and stumble into this restaurant you probably couldn't tell the difference.

However we notice. There are dishes on this menu you wouldn't get at the Mahaan or other popular Indian resturants in Worthing. If you take the time to ask them about their food and what the best Nepalese dishes are then like us you will experience different and bolder flavours and spices that you do with standard Indian fare. Don't go here and order Chicken Tikka Masala or similar. It is a waste. Ask about their food.

My partner does not like hot dishes but she loves spices and flavour and I think this is the difference with Om.

We have eaten in the restaurant a few times and this is a lovely experience, well decorated attentive service and they like children. In your local Indian do you just get the feeling they are taking your money and whilst their is a smile and politeness their is no really engaging experience. When we eat at Om we get the feeling that they enjoy what they do.

But our main use is their takeaway which we pick up from them. It normally takes them approximately 30 minutes to get ready (I like the fact it is not instant it says to me they have made it fresh) and we get the best experience for a takeaway you can have.

Try Pokhareli, Achari, Amilo and you will see what I mean about the flavours being different to traditional Indian food. If you want to try something different to your regular Indian then I would recommend Om.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Very poor...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Having read the reviews, we booked a table for 5 on a Sunday evening. We arrived on time and saw few customers inside. On entering, the waiter mumbled something about "table for five?", so we said "yes" and sat down. He brought over popadums immediately, but then wandered off. Eventually he returned and we managed to get drinks ordered - which took forever to arrive. With no sign of menus, we called him over to ask for them.

He expressed astonishment and claimed we had ordered the buffet for 5 - which we hadn't! He explained that he'd get into trouble as the chef had already prepared the buffet starters, so reluctantly we agreed. Bad move!

The starters arrived and were OK ( but NOTHING special!) and we went to get the buffet. Only a bit of hard rice left and several of the buffet dishes were virtually empty. The burner had gone out under one of the trays - cold dahl, anyone?

We asked for fresh rice and after about 5-10 minutes it arrived. We made do with the selection available - and of course, as we were finishing, the owner refilled a couple of the buffet dishes. The chicken had clearly been added to pre-prepared sauce and had little flavour. As for Nepalese food - not a sign. Korma, tikka masala and 'lamb curry'? Not very Himalayan...

Overall, this was the worst Indian restaurant we have eaten at for a very long time. NOT recommended.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roj l, Owner at OM restaurant, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for your comment. My sincere apology for the negative experience you had. It is a one off incident, which I deeply regret. Since then we have made many changes. Many of the dishes offered on buffet are from the menu. We do change the menu every week, so that one can try out different dishes. In next couple of months, we will be bringing further changes and hope that you will visit us again and try for yourself.
On Sundays, we always offer a la carte option as well as the buffet. It is entirely up to guest’s discretion to opt for either. Since your visit, we have educated all our staff on customer service, so that no such incidents may occur. We always appreciate customer feedback; positive or negative as these help us improve. we take every comments seriously and thank you once again and we sincere hope you will try us again and see the difference.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Bursting with flavour !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

After a shocking, tasteless experience at another Worthing Indian Restaurant, The Mahaan, the previous evening, we came here in an attempt to restore our faith in Indian/sub continent cuisine; we were not disappointed. It is interesting that the same local who had recommended the Mahaan, at the same time, was not too complimentary about the cuisine of OM Taste of Nepal. It does show how our tastes differ.

We ordered four take away items: 1 Nan bread, 1 portion of pilau rice, 1 chicken chilli masala and 1 chicken achari

The service was friendly and very relaxed. It was Saturday evening and the restaurant was busy but we were treated as equals by the staff and relaxed in comfy armchairs as we waited for the 15/20 minutes for our meal. This provided an excellent vantage point to examine the food for the diners as the waiters wheeled the meals past us on trollies. Not only did the dishes look good but there were gorgeous aromas accompanying them. We thought that there was no way that this meal could be as disappointing as that the previous evening.

This Nepalese food was bursting with flavour. The Chilli Masala Chicken was a lovely spicy blend of green chillis,onions and green peppers.It was hot without being searingly so. The Chicken Achari combined green peppers with coriander, pickled limes and tomatoes for a zingy sweet and sour flavour. Although, perhaps the pickled limes were a little over done. Nevertheless, we wanted a meal that was bursting full of flavours to really taste our taste buds, and we were not disappointed.

We would return again.

PS. A nice touch was the inclusion of two free pappadoms and mint raitha. The pappadoms were the freshest and most delicious I have ever tasted1

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

A fantastic Sunday evening buffet, good choice, very high standard.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed OM restaurant also viewed

 
Worthing, West Sussex
Worthing, West Sussex
 

Been to OM restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage OM restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.