We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, great staff, a hotel without pretensions” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Victorian Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Victorian Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Victorian Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Railway Approach, Worthing BN11 1UR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Worthing
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Friendly, great staff, a hotel without pretensions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I stayed here while visiting friends for a night out near by.

It's a lovely pub with hotel rooms above in an impressive looking Victorian building right opposite Worthing station. There was plenty of on road parking available (without restriction after 6pm until 9am), and even though on the first floor facing the station I had absolutely no problem with noise.

If you like superficially pristine and as every other in a chain this isn't the place for you. If you enjoy a clean, spacious, slightly quirky hotel, with fantastic, friendly and welcoming staff then you'll love it!

My room was large, had some original features, was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was limited but what there was good, and quite adequate in choice.

Overall, a friendly, down to earth, honest hotel without pretensions to be something it isn't. I'd happily stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    32
    29
    21
    39
See reviews for
22
42
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

This hotel is opposite the main railway station in Worthing so good for transport links. Although if arriving by road it is also very easy to find even if not using a sat nav. The hotel is an old style railway hotel, but it can be noisy. I stayed three nights: the first night there was a drunk using profanity till midnight, the second night there was a disco which fortunately did finish at midnight, third night bliss no noise. We were warned by the receptionist that there would be a disco and she did make an attempt to change my room to a quieter one but to no avail. Breakfast could have been excellent but at the first breakfast the chef went out earlier than usual so no fried eggs, second one various products ran out and some not replaced, by the third one no issues so good- everything available. Rooms large and old fashioned but carpets stained. each room had a flat screen TV and Wi Fi was available through out the hotel. Staff fortunately friendly but some seemed overworked especially at breakfast time. Easy to walk into town where a cross section of restaurants can be found. There is some parking at the rear of the hotel which is free. The hotel has a restaurant although I did not use it but prices seemed reasonable.

Room Tip: Go for the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

I had been travelling around the South Coast and Staying in Some dire 3 & 4 star hotels, this was an oasis. I booked in for two nights on June 15th but ended staying the week. Great location, lovely staff, best nights sleep in two weeks, cheapest pub in Worthing, terrific bar staff, World Cup on big screen, cracking locals and very friendly, and from my window hot air balloons gently flying over the downs in the morning finally the best breakfast I have had for years with a home made scrambled egg recipe to put the Americans to shame. What's not to like! This Is a gem of a find, and have already booked my return stay. Nick.

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Let me start by saying I have never before taken time to write a bad review, but from the absolute start this hotel was a let down. We were very clear at the time of booking how many adults and children there would be, 4 adults and 3 children, including a one year old and an 83 year old, upon arrival we were bluntly and unapologetically told by the receptionist Emma, that we would be on different floors, with one being on the top floor, the rooms weren't ready for us yet, but we could leave our stuff in the top floor room. So we had to struggle with no lift, a buggy, an OAP and suitcases to the top floor, with no offer to assist in anyway. When we finally got to the 'family suite' it was shocking! the same size as the others just with a broken, dangerous, bad quality sofa bed, so close to the wardrobe we couldn't open it! There were various other things that seem too minor to mention, such as the plug getting stuck in the sink each time you used it, only supplying one toilet roll(no spare), a silly light system that meant you couldn't have the hall light on without the front room main light, and the mirror breaking in the other room. We tried to explain the situation later to the male receptionist, who said he was the manger also and was aware of the sizes of the room and knows they're small, and that there was nothing he could do.
My mum reviewed this hotel when we got back and the response from the hotel was unprofessional and disrespectful to say the least. We most certainly did not leave the room in a state with crisps and nappies everywhere! The rooms were never even that clean in the first place! Our children were most definitely not running around at 7.30am! Although considering breakfast starts at 8 they were up. I would actively discourage anyone thinking of going to Worthing to book in this hotel. The ONLY positive thing about this hotel was the cook who makes and serves breakfast, he was so helpful and happy, his energy is wasted there

Room Tip: Don't book here if you want a good room, unless you're not traveling with children
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emma e, Manager at Grand Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
responding to the comments made on this review firstly the rooms were not ready on arrival as the guests were early by two hours for check in which was explained and the rooms were made available as soon as possible there was an explanation about this.
there would be no chance of anyone at this hotel taking a booking for four people in one room as we don't have any 4 person rooms and for fire and safety reasons this is not aloud. which is why 3 rooms were booked in the first place.
all the aspects of the reply to the first review were true.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

On checking in staff were helpful and very polite. The rooms were a little tired decor wise but they were clean, and very affordable for a night away. We were nicely situated, and getting about was easy, taxi ranks & station on your doorstep. To be honest you get what you pay for and this was a good deal, the staff were lovely and the breakfast was good. The check out was very flexible time wise. They also let us park in the car park all day on the second day, whilst went exploring Worthing.

All in all it was good for the cost !!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We booked two double rooms and one family suite .

ROOM 8 the family suite was just a double room with a sofa bed ,,,,, a very small sofa bed. we could not open the wardrobe door enough to hang our clothes in because no space . we had two young children and two adults in this room it was a nightmare . The sofa bed was way to small even for two children to sleep in we had to move one of the kids into share in the other double room.

Room 17 .....the the mirror on top of the chest of drawers feel to bits as soon as touched ..thank goodness it didnt shatter as we had an infant with us in this room.
The light in the bathroom did not work and also to our frustration nor did the hair dryer .

We booked our stay well in advance 3 months and made a request to have our rooms on same floor this was also to difficult for them as we had two rooms on 1st floor and one room on top .

I did make a complaint about our rooms to manager who just didnt seem interrested or care I was told to leave my email address and his manager would contact me on Monday 16th June 2014 ???? I dont hold up much hope of that.

The only good thing about our stay at this hotel was that their sasauges were nice ...We shant be going back .

Room Tip: Do not book a family suite as its the same as a double room with a single put you up sofa bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emma e, Manager at Grand Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
we are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay firstly the family room is not for four people in the first place which is why you felt cramped because you had too many people in the room if you had explained this we would have told you that you needed a twin room instead of a double so that you had an extra bed.
the mirror most certainly didn't fall apart when touched as the back of it has been pulled off and then thrown on top of the wardrobe and not reported, the hairdryer does work in this room if you flick the switch on if that had also been reported we could have shown you.
unfortunately requests cannot be guaranteed so we did our best to make sure that two of the rooms were on the same floor but as we were already fully booked and other guests were on long stays this resulted in one of the rooms being on the top floor. which I did apologise for and explain at the time of booking in.
other than that the state that you let two of the rooms in was bad enough dirty nappies all over the floor crisps crunched up in the beds and everywhere you could imagine.
also allowing your children to run up and down the hallway at 7.30 in the morning without a care for the other guests staying goes to show that there was no respect for our hotel.
I think that explains it all
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Basic rooms, not cleaned very well. Attention to detail was very much lacking: no waste bin in bathroom, that sort of thing.
We had two mirrors in our room where our friends had none, they had bedspreads, we didn't. There were holes in the net curtains. And no mattress protectors!!
The staff were friendly and welcoming though.
Breakfast was ok, had better, had worse!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Victorian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Victorian Hotel

Address: 27 Railway Approach, Worthing BN11 1UR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Worthing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Worthing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Victorian Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Victorian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Victorian Hotel Worthing, West Sussex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Victorian Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.