We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Excellent Meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Steakhouse Tapas & Grill

The Steakhouse Tapas & Grill
Nepcote Lane | The Old Forge, Findon Village, Worthing BN14 0SE, England
+44 1903 877277
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Steakhouse Tapas & Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #41 of 255 Restaurants in Worthing
Price range: $9 - $35
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Located on Nepcote Lane in Findon near Worthing, The Steakhouse Tapas & Grill offers succulent steaks, flame grilled burgers, Spanish tapas, plus fresh Seafood & Game, with excellent vegetarian options too!From the moment you walk through the door, you will enter into a unique dining experience that you're sure to remember for a long time to come. Booking Required!Thursday Night = WINE NIGHT (Complimentary glass of wine per person T&C's Apply)Weekend Lunch's - BBQ TIME! (Weather Permitting)
Dartford, Kent, UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“An Excellent Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

A very well decorated contemporary restaurant with friendly staff and fantastic food - the fillet steak just melts in your mouth! Nice to see the head chef / owner, Paul Ellis, come round to each table and have a chat. Im not local to this area but would definitely travel to have a meal at this restaurant.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brown-Fuller, Manager at The Steakhouse Tapas & Grill, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review! We are glad you enjoyed your fillet steak. As we are in the middle of a small yet lovely village, it is important for us to have customers who are willing to drive out to us, so thank you for your support.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Steakhouse Tapas & Grill in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    32
    12
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“What a let down”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is supposed to be a great steakhouse - and yet our experience was steak that was not cooked as we had requested and was in no way juicy. We tried to call the chef / waiter over for some time but they ignored us. Eventually the chef did come over - to be fair he wanted to replace the steaks but it was too late by then. He did take the steaks off the bill - but his promise to give us his card so we could come back and have the steaks cooked perfectly for us never materialised. After our main courses were cleared (two of us had tapas, which we enjoyed), we were brought 3 scoops of ice cream to share between us - compliments of the chef. We ate them between us - lovely. But we were never offered the dessert menu. We had to wave vigourously again to attract attention in order to order coffee.
Having seen so many positive reviews, we thought this place would be good - but they seriously need to work on their standard of service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brown-Fuller, Manager at The Steakhouse Tapas & Grill, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Firstly I would like to apologise that your experience at the Steakhouse was not to the high standard we strive to achieve in every aspect of the restaurant. We are a new business in our first year of trading and customer satisfaction is incredibly important to us, so your feedback is appreciated.

I have spoken to all members of staff on the evening of your visit and I can only apologise that you felt neglected.
Our steaks are all locally sourced prime cuts, which the chef regularly checks for quality assurance - on this occasion the chef/owner agreed that your steak was not to his high standards and offered to replace the steak, which you declined. For this reason your meal was taken off the bill with our apologies. I am glad the rest of your party enjoyed our tapas.

After your main courses you requested the bill, but the chef/owner asked the staff to arrange for you to have a taste of our homemade ice creams before you left, with his compliments. I am glad to hear you enjoyed them! This may be the reason you were not offered dessert menus or tea & coffee, but I can only apologise again that this wasn't offered to you.

The chef did say that he would like you to come back and have a perfectly cooked steak, which we are renowned for! His business card was placed in with the bill at the end of the meal for you to take away with you.

If you would like to return and have that perfectly cooked steak that the owner promised you please do call us and ask for Paul Ellis or myself on 01903 877277.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great lunch, excellent service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We booked a table for lunch on the spur of the moment due to distant memory of reading a very complimentary review in a newspaper somewhere. It proved a great idea. Despite a moment's dread as we saw the lovely clean, black carpet and looked at our little one-year old thinking "Oh no... !" But the team could not make us feel more welcome and they didn't mind, at all. We even had a quick chat with the chef, Paul Ellis, who was impressed by our little one's evolving good taste. The food was outstanding and very reasonably priced. We will definately be back (although I might bring a plastic sheet to save the carpet next time!)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brown-Fuller, Manager at The Steakhouse Tapas & Grill, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for your kind review!
We are more than happy to accomodate families and we're glad you enjoyed your lunch with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Steakhouse in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect steak and perfect service + a free mini cooking lesson!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

This is our second visit and it was better than the last. The Chef made a Blue cheese sauce from scratch on our table with a portable stove! The steaks were cooked to perfection and my wife's parents had some fantastic tapas. All in all it was absolutely brilliant experience and we would recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brown-Fuller, Manager at The Steakhouse Tapas & Grill, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for your kind review! I'm glad you enjoyed your second visit even more than the first! The chef was more than happy to accommodate your request of a cheese sauce and we have now added a cheese sauce to our menu to accompany the steaks! The chef will be doing cooking demonstrations in the restaurant at the weekends through the autumn.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Steakhouse!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have just returned having spent a very pleasant couple of nights at the Steakhouse and can only reiterate the positive comments made in recent reviews. Fantastic food and accommodation, Paul and his staff did everything possible to make our stay enjoyable

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brown-Fuller, Manager at The Steakhouse Tapas & Grill, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay in our new accommodation. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Steakhouse in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Steakhouse Tapas & Grill also viewed

Worthing, West Sussex
Worthing, West Sussex
 
Worthing, West Sussex
 

Been to The Steakhouse Tapas & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Steakhouse Tapas & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.