We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Munch Coffee Bar & Kitchen

Munch Coffee Bar & Kitchen
3-5, The Royal Arcade,, Worthing BN11 3AY, England
+44 1903 232288
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 247 Restaurants in Worthing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $2 - $12
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Sandwiches, Bistro, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: Independent coffee house offering locally sourced products freshly cooked to order. Family run business with space for families, pushchairs and groups. We also have a spacious first floor for those who want to squirrel themselves a way in a quiet corner.
Worthing, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Don't bother!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

If you want badly presented, microwaved jacket potatoes you should definitely visit but don't expect a warm welcome. Sad to say after reading the reviews my friend and I were really disappointed and won't be going again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MunchWorthing, Owner at Munch Coffee Bar & Kitchen, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
I am sorry to read your feedback, you certainly share a great disappointment and one which does not reflect either our cooking methods or attention to customer service. Please do visit again and ask for Samantha, as a working owner I would be more than happy to address your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    44
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Friendly cafe with decent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stopped on a wild rainswept afternoon for tea,hot chocolate and scones.Good standard of food in bright clean cafe.Staff are very friendly and welcoming. Wish all Worthing eateries were like that!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A real find .........central to everything but hidden down a small shopping arcade”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We love Munch - the two owners are really careful to source the greatest of ingredients and you find yourself enjoying the best coffee, best hot chocolate (ever) and the best sausages from the local butcher (just down the road with their own 'butcher bike' delivery service) along with some of the most delicious bread (again locally baked) ever. So even if you pop in for a quick cup of coffee, ignore the 'trendy' coffee shop at the end of the Royal Arcade, walk a few yards along and enjoy a far better drink at a much lower price. Cannot recommend them highly enough. Oh, - and a real bonus for us - they are 'dog friendly' :-)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MunchWorthing, Owner at Munch Coffee Bar & Kitchen, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, there are plenty of great places to eat and drink in Worthing. We have only our food and service to make us stand out and you have confirmed what we are doing is what customers want.
We are an independent family run business and all our suppliers are the same, if we want our customers' to appreciate the value of this, it makes sense we start with our suppliers
All four-legged friends are very much welcomed and are often served first with a fresh bowl of water!! All we ask is they are kept on a lead and behave like the rest of the family!!
We look forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Amazing food, amazing service & the best coffee in worthing! Will definitely be returning and recommending to others

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Such a great addition to town, and much needed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Love this place. We needed a cafe like this in Worthing - one where you know the coffee is good, the surroundings comfortable and chilled and the food locally sourced and cooked with love, care and attention.

The staff are wonderful and the owners have got the mix just right: they know exactly how to make you feel welcome. It's a great space, open and full of light with a collection of fat sofas, quirky chairs and comfortable little tables to sit at and eat - or just muse at over a cappuccino and a newspaper.

They cater for everyone too and have high chairs for toddlers and space for mothers to meet and chat. Upstairs is blissfully quiet too, if you want to get away and relax after a hectic day on town. You can also book your favourite space or table if you have a definite time in mind.

They do fabulous breakfasts - everything from a sumptuous fry up to perfect Eggs Benedict or scrambled eggs and smoked salmon. Unlike the average cafe, they also have a fabulous vegetarian breakfast.

The lunchtime menu has Specials of the Day alongside homemade soups, jacket potatoes, omelettes and salads. They do a special Kids menu with their favourite food like fish fingers, or chicken goujons, egg on toast, chips and beans. Too many choices to list here.

Their salads are a cut above the average and include choices such as halloumi or feta cheese, smoked mackerel and garlic prawns, alongside chicken and tuna nicoise.

Last time I went I took a friend for lunch and we ate one of the best Cajun Chickens I have ever tasted. It was cooked by the resident chef/part-owner on the premises. No plastic catering containers here. My pal had her chicken as a 'burger' in a bun and I had an immaculate salad. We loved both.

The key to the success of this place and its distinctive personality are the owners - a damn good chef and a clever business woman - who had the idea to create an independent cafe with great food, and made it happen together. A great deal of thought has gone into this and it shows.

Worth a visit - and so much better than what you'll find along the seafront.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MunchWorthing, Owner at Munch Coffee Bar & Kitchen, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We work hard to provide good quality food in a relaxed and enjoyable environment. We work hard to get it right, are sometimes off the mark, but are committed to continuous improvement.
We value all our customers as we fully acknowledge there are a mass of choices to eat and drink in Worthing, we take nothing for granted. We have outstanding suppliers, absolutely all are local, our sausages are almost a legend in their own right: hand made and packed with flavour. Our team of staff both in the kitchen and customer facing, share our passion to provide sincere and thoughtful table service. Without them and their hard work we're up a creek without a paddle!!
We take a huge sense of pride in being an independent coffee house, our tea and full range of TeaPigs are pretty whizzy too. Coupled with our homemade cakes, which obviously I had to check for research purposes only, we start every day with the aim to offer the best we have to everyone that walks through our door. So thank you again for supporting us, from a full on lunch with friends, to having the comfort and confidence to fly solo and stop for a relaxing cappuccino and read of the paper. People watching up and down the Arcade can be so rewarding!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Munch Coffee Bar & Kitchen also viewed

Worthing, West Sussex
Worthing, West Sussex
 
Worthing, West Sussex
Worthing, West Sussex
 

Been to Munch Coffee Bar & Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Munch Coffee Bar & Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.