We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service in a fantastic location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Lane Cafe

Sea Lane Cafe
Marine Crescent | Goring By The Sea, Worthing BN12 4HR, England
01903 247847
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #58 of 258 Restaurants in Worthing
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery
West Sussex
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great service in a fantastic location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Firstly, my daughter and I frequent Sea Lane Cafe at least twice a week for our favourite tea and scone combo! My husband joins us for a visit or two over the weekend which normally includes a breakfast trip! This in itself should speak volumes about the place!
Yes, the main menu items are a little on the pricey side for a cafe but you can't put a price on the view which is as atmospheric on a rainy day as it is glorious on a sunny one! The portions are on the generous side as well so there is some value for your money! Also it's only, £2.80 for a brew and a scone? No wonder I'm in there so often, their scones are great, especially the wholemeal ones with which I try and convince myself I'm being healthy!
The service is second to none, yes, you queue (for a long time on a sunny day!) and take your own drinks to the table but the girls are always smiley, helpful, patient and accommodating! My daughter has her favourites, (mention no names, Becky, Kirsty and now Jenny too) but all of them are lovely and nothing is too much trouble!
The outdoor tables and chairs could be improved but I like the rustic cafe feel inside. Booth seating makes it easy to tag onto the end of a table during busier times and can seat larger groups of people! The place is always clean, you only have to go in there at closing time to see the team cleaning everything down, including mirrors and windows!
Well worth a visit!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peter a, Owner at Sea Lane Cafe, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for your review. It is customers like you who keep us busy so Thank you :)
Peter, Sea lane cafe part owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    87
    25
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Expensive cafe”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

A great location with no competition around probably explains the popularity, surprising because the food prices are very high and the coffee is at best described as bland. It's a shame they don't have better quality tables and chairs outside. In fact the whole place needs refurbishing, inside and out! The excellent staff work very hard. I would advise people to take a picnic and sit on the beach, it would be much cheaper and probably more pleasurable.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peter a, Owner at Sea Lane Cafe, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
I'm sorry to hear this :(
We have to put our prices up because the food that we order in gets more and more expensive. we have not put our prices up for a while even though our suppliers have. I would not like to put the prices down because if i did the quality of the food would not be the same because we would have to buy cheaper ingredients.
We buy our coffee in from a very good local coffee company, we have recently addressed that our coffee is not as tasty as it usually is to our supplier and they have changed the blend they supply us with which we think is very nice!
We have recently had our floor and all inside tables and chairs refurbished and the outside seating was changed last summer so i am sorry if it not to your taste.
We think our staff are excellent also :) Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A treasure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I don't know where to start with this review - there is so much to say and all of it's good! Sea Lane Cafe is a short drive out of Worthing but still on the seafront, with a lovely view overlooking the beach (in fact, practically on it!). No matter what the weather, it's always busy inside - you might have to brave sitting outside on a wet or windy day, where there is limited seating under cover. There is a huge choice of the usual tasty fish and chips/sausage, egg & chips meals but don't go thinking this is a 'greasy spoon' cafe - everything is freshly and beautifully cooked and presented, often with a side salad. You can basically have whatever you want! AND, they have a choice of delicious cakes & pastries if you just want a snack. AND they bake their own scones which are yummy! What more could you want? Oh, and the coffee's good too!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peter a, Owner at Sea Lane Cafe, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review. Im glad you have enjoyed your experience at Sea lane cafe.
Peter, Sea lane cafe part owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brit in Spain
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Sea Lane, sea front, see life”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Rather British Rail Platform Tea Rooms of half a Century ago, and none the worse for that. We had the best Pot of Tea we have experienced in an English Cafe this trip - in Spain we drink Coffee, Tea is best avoided there and in England we miss out on Coffee and rarely drink the local Tea, but in the nostalgic circumstances we succumbed. All that
and a view of the shingle beach.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peter a, Owner at Sea Lane Cafe, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad you have enjoyed your experience at Sea lane cafe.
Peter, Sea lane cafe part owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The food , the views, the staff and customer service are all very good. The food is though very expensive for what it is - kind of puts us off really. Why not make a picnic and just go sit on the beach? The Cafe can be very busy at times, but the staff cope really well and provide a smooth service with a smile.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peter a, Owner at Sea Lane Cafe, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to write a review, we think our staff are fantastic too! A lot of our food is locally sourced so is not cheap to buy in, we try to keep our prices as low as possible but do not want to sacrifice the quality of our food by buying in from larger cheaper companies. Thanks again,
Peter Attwood, Sea Lane Cafe Part Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Lane Cafe also viewed

Ferring, West Sussex
Worthing, West Sussex
 
Worthing, West Sussex
 

Been to Sea Lane Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Lane Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.