We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stuck in the 1970s - Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Difference - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
La Difference
12 Crescent Road, Worthing, England
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: Tel (01903 205370
York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Stuck in the 1970s - Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This was one of the first "continental" restaurants to open in Worthing in the late 1970s and doesn't appear to have changed much since - including the prices!
The £9.50 menu is an absolute bargain considering the quality and quantity of food provided; in particular the home-made lemon merringue, which was absolutely delicious.
Three of us ate and drank well, yet the bill (excluding a tip) was under £20 each.
The decor is a bit Blackpool B&B, but don't be put off; you're there to eat, not stare at the carpet (unless you drink too much and fall flat on your face, of course!).
Excellent food, sensibly priced wine (good selection) and attentive staff - probably explains why they were so busy mid-week!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    14
    2
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Horsham West Sussex
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A lovely lunch !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I was invited to this restaurant by friends last week . Crepes are not really my thing ,however,it was a lovely experience both in quality of food,ambience and service.
I thoroughly enjoyed the experience and could become a "crepe"convert . Well done La Difference and congratulations on you friendly welcome .
I will visit again when next in Worthing .

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere, Friendly Service, Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Went to La Difference a couple of days ago for an evening meal and found the experience an enjoyable one. The restuarant itself is in the cafe style and very unpretentious. The waitress was extremely welcoming and friendly. There was a good atmosphere amongst diners many of whom are regulars. The menu was quite limited but the prices were exceptionally low. The one let down for me was the standard of the food, I had the vegetarian option which I thought was average and the desert was not the best in the world. The meat eaters I went with all seemed happy with their food. Despite my reservations about the vegetarian food I would be happy to go back here every two or three months.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“For a good dinner out.............”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

La D as we call it...we have been going for 32 years so it must be good, all freshly cooked food to order, good menu choice and reasonably priced, a homely frnch bistro type place.... we love it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“LITTLE GEM SLIGHTLY AWAY FROM SHOPS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We have known this place for a while now. It is the best value that I have ever found.
The Chef is French and does the cooking alone. The waitresses are so friendly and helpful to everyone. The food is exquisite. You can get a sirloin or rump steak for under £8 with that you get fries and peas and a bowl of fresh salad. There are numerous choices including the most delicious crepes, which you can have savoury or sweet with various toppings and sauces. Also gorgeous lamb cutlets, casseroles etc. and various offers. A lot of folk go regularly because they could not get a better home cooked meal, and I mean it is all home cooked even the fab. choc sauce on sweets and bearnaise sauce on steaks. They are open from Tuesday till Saturday lunchtime and evening (probably adviseable to book for evening weekends), maybe lunchtimes too. If glamour and glitz is your fancy, this won't be for you, to me it is typically french old style, that is not a crtisism, it is very cosy and the cost so very reasonable I dont know how they do it. Just go and bon appetit

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Difference also viewed

 
Worthing, West Sussex
Worthing, West Sussex
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Difference, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.