We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and fine.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shaan Indian Restaurant

Shaan Indian Restaurant
205 Tarring Road, Worthing, West Sussex, BN11 4HN, Worthing BN11 4HN, England
01903 209955/ 211633
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #143 of 258 Restaurants in Worthing
Cuisines: Indian, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Newly opened ( last 3 weeks)
Worthing, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Friendly and fine.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Staff were very helpful and efficient and even pre-empted some of our requests ( always pleased when a waiter/ress has been listening out for our 'wants' without hovering in view). The menu is huge and includes some unusual dishes as well as a few English alternatives. First time I've ever seen pasta in an Indian restaurant! Three of ordered 3 different curries, 2 rice and 2 nan and whilst all the food was fine (maybe the rice could have been hotter) none of it was truly memorable. We will definitely return to explore the menu.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    10
    5
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Surprisingly good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via Local Picks

From the front looks small go in and just right good food sizzleing options and hot wipes at end easily pleased but a hand shake on the door goes a long way

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
“Not worth the money...Where was the chicken?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We spent nearly £25 for two people and both dishes were below average and we had to search for the chicken among the pineapple! The sauces in the curry was watery and not as spicy as it should have been.Also for £25 I would expect poppadums as included in a takeaway like all other Indian cuisines.I couldn't be bothered to call and complain about the quality of the meal.It was my first and last time buying from this place.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Indian Restaurant in Worthing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Eaten here several times and the food has always been absolutely fantastic and very reasonably priced.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“probably the best restaurant in worthing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I can't speak highly enough of the Shaan.We just had a lovely meal, the food is fantastic & the service was excellent. Presentation is a top notch, the decor is modern & so classy you will forget you are in Tarring Rd!
We have eaten here a few times now, it's consistantly good & great value. The portions are very generous. We shared popadoms, a curry, fancy rice, fancy nan, side dish. We had a couple of drinks each, they brought a jug of water, we had a dessert & coffees all for little over £30 AND then they threw in after dinner mints & complementary Baileys. Thankyou for a lovely evening and good luck with the business!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shaan Indian Restaurant also viewed

Worthing, West Sussex
Worthing, West Sussex
 
Worthing, West Sussex
Worthing, West Sussex
 

Been to Shaan Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shaan Indian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.