We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Valentines Day” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sylvan Oak

Sylvan Oak
The Square | Findon Village, Worthing BN14 0TE, England
+44 1903 873385
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 271 Restaurants in Worthing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $35 - $59
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Friendly casual fine dinning food. Locally sourced produce in a lovely Sussex Village.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Valentines Day”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We booked a table for two couples, there was live music which was too loud we asked for it to be turned down so we could talk. Nothing happened so when we turned the speaker down which was literally 8 inches above my head the artist was upset. Musicians in need to realise that if the food is £50 per head its worth more than they are. As it happens the food wasn't worth it either and the vegetarian option was poor. I think this was an unusually bad night and the reputation of the Sylvian Oak is good but we didn't have a good time and did not receive an apology.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SylvanFindon, Manager at Sylvan Oak, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Firstly, our sincerest apologies for taking so long to respond to this comment. We have only just got to grips with the response tool that Trip-Advisor provides to enable us to replies back to customer opinions; this is purely due to a lack of time on our side since we first opened the comments page. In the meantime (and amongst other duties), we have been concentrating our efforts on improving things further in the Findon restaurant, particularly if we receive customer comments and suggestions; thankfully these have been predominantly positive as illustrated by our stats-bars at the top of the page. We have also been busy building on the success of the last four years by planning our next restaurant venture in South London which we plan to have open by Christmas.

To turn to your comments: You are absolutely correct here, musicians do need to realise that the wishes of the customer are paramount and artistic petulance should never overrule the wishes of the paying public; we apologise unreservedly for any inconvenience suffered as a result of this incident. Re: the food: First, we appreciate your balanced and objective comment that this must have been "an unusually bad night". We regret the fact that the menu was unsuitable, particularly the vegetarian option. In the last twelve months the menu has been completely revamped by our chefs - one of whom leaves us soon to head up the team at our S. London restaurant. We sincerely hope that you will visit us again in the near future to experience Sylvan Oak hospitality. If you do please identify yourself to us so that we can find you a nice wine accompaniment (that has been maturing even longer than this regrettably tardy reply).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    28
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Chose this restaurant as a rare treat to celebrate our anniversary after downloading the menu - two courses £20 three courses £26. There were 2 starters and 3 main courses that cost more however the lamb and beef dishes we had chosen didn't have an extra charge. The menu we were given didn't resemble the on line menu and although there was a lamb & beef dish on the menu these were at an extra cost of £ 8-10 each. Nearly everything on the menu had an extra cost we therefore ended up choosing dishes that were not our first choice. The food was nice but the portions small I thought my vegetables were a garnish! We ordered sweets but they never came so we paid and left. Went home and had a couple of rounds of cheese on toast as we were still hungry

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SylvanFindon, Manager at Sylvan Oak, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Firstly, our sincerest apologies for taking so long to respond to this comment. We have only just got to grips with the response tool that Trip-Advisor provides to enable us to replies back to customer opinions. The time that has elapsed in no way diminishes the importance and value of your comments which we take extremely seriously.

To turn to your comments: We have looked back at our records to try and establish what happened here: it transpires that the menu that you downloaded had been superceded by the time that you visited us (mid-September 2012). This is 100% our mistake and we are very sorry that this lack of synchronism on our part - the delay between the redesign of our menu for restaurant use and publishing this on our web site - proved disappointing for you.

Menu redesigns are something that we do on a regular basis as the seasons change and also to ensure that our many regular clients can experience variety when dining with us; portion size is something that we also keep under constant review. We hope that you will visit us soon so that we can make reparation for your experience; please mention your review when you visit us so that we can ensure that this happens and can check back with you at the end to make doubly sure that we have made amends for this cyber-shortfall.

Constructive criticism is always welcome and so we thank you for balancing your review with positive comments about the food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lovely little place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

We were due to go there for dinner on Saturday night but had to change to Sunday lunch due to the weather. We had two cources for £20 which was more than enough for lunch. Both mains were very good, however the puds were exceptional, probably the best chocolate fondant I've had. If we're in the area again we'll defiantly look to revisit

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A Special Place to Go”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Have been here a few times now and must say it is a great place for a special night.

You cannot fault the quality and presentation, although I get the impression the menu itself could vary a little more. However, that is a small thing. The food and ambiance is excellent.
For us, as this can be on the high side of the price scale, this is definitely a place for a special occasion.

Looking at Sally H’s comment I would agree on the supplements. Luckily we were being treated but the addition of so many supplements does make it on the high price side.

I would also echo Stuart Warren’s comments about the seating though; something I noted myself in a half-aware sense as I left. Along with some cobwebs in the corners.

However, that is being picky: Excellent food, ambiance and the host was great. I recommend it.

Whitingbay's comment on the veal is interesting. I like veal and that is what I had this time around but I do agree with him to a degree. Have had veal schnitzel in a few places and it was better.

Sally H's comment on the locality of the produce is also worth a thought. With so much cattle etc. on the South Downs now and the coast on our door step could restaurants do more to use local produce? Especially if they are using the "local produce" appeal.

Overall: Well done to Sylvan Oak but something to consider at least.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rustington, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Good food but nothing special”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

A lovely meal but not as good as I would expect for the price tag. The menu also contained some very pricey supplements which would definitely have placed this restaurant in the "expensive" category. Their website refers to "sustainable sources" and "85% of produce comes from a 50 mile radius of Findon" which in fairness I would expect to pay for, However I did not feel this claim was reflected on the menu which included, for example, Spanish goats cheese and Cornish crab and the provenance of other foods was not identified.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sylvan Oak also viewed

 
Worthing, West Sussex
 

Been to Sylvan Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sylvan Oak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.