We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip to Worthing Museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Worthing Museum and Art Gallery

Worthing Museum and Art Gallery
Chapel Road, Worthing BN11 1HP , England
+44 1903 221448
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 8 Attractions in Worthing
Type: Art Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: If you have a passion for the very best in Regency and Victorian fashion, want to be inspired by artists such as Stanley Spencer, William Holman-Hunt and Philip Jackson, or are looking to discover why Worthing residents take such quiet pride in 55,000 years of their achievements, then Worthing Museum and Art Gallery is the place to visit. A variety of events throughout the year link to many of the exhibitions. The Museum Team also offer curator-led talks, object handling workshops, and educational visits (including dressing up days). The elegant Edwardian building also houses a shop, has disabled access and toilets and free entry. Opening hours: Tues - Sat 10am - 5pm
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Trip to Worthing Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Worthing Museum is a history and art gallery.The Museum opens at 10,o,clock and closeis at 5,0,clock.Worthing Museum is suitable for kids.If you were wondring how much it is well its free!
At Worthing Museum i learned something new the Romans had a lot of money but it was thery
little.The staff who was there when i went was therey helpful because she was on the phone
and she smiled at us so she new we were there.The Museum is good because it has lots of
intresting stuff.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing M, Museum Education Project Manager at Worthing Museum and Art Gallery, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you Class3b for your feedback, we're really glad that you enjoyed your visit to the museum. You mentioned that you learnt about Roman money - did you spot that a Roman soldier would need 1 quadrons for a shave, 5 denarii for a new saddle and 2 quadrantes for a pint of beer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    27
    9
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The amazing museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Worthing museum is a small museum with lots of interesting artefacts and information. You can walk, drive, take the train or catch a bus. It is near to the town centre.

When you go inside the museum takes you back in time! Watch out for the skeleton - it is my favourite part!

We went to do a workshop about the Romans. You have to pay extra but it is worth it. You get to dig up real roman artefacts.

I recommend you go there. The workshop was REALLY fun.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing M, Museum education project manager at Worthing Museum and Art Gallery, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
We love having school groups at the museum, so thank you for letting us know you enjoyed your visit. Please do come back and visit the rest of the museum - we promise to keep the skeleton under control!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“visit when in Worthing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

A fantastic museum to visit when in Worthing - local history, archaelogy, interesting fashion collections, old toys and lots more - some quirky artefacts both upstairs and down. All well displayed. Good for all ages - young and old, with some activities for kids and a nice little shop. Have seen some great art exhibitions in various rooms and in the sculpture garden. Wish there was a cafe and also open on Sundays when parking is free, but there is a very good cafe nearby at St. Pauls.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing M, Museum Education Project Manager at Worthing Museum and Art Gallery, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for your review, we're really pleased that you enjoyed your visit. We certainly try to appeal to a wide age-range and keep our exhibitions changing, so there should always be something new to see. A tip for parking, there are a number of residential streets around the museum that offer free parking outside of the permit times, so it is worth looking if you are planning a short visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“a lobby full of rubish”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Don't know how they could claim it is a museum, have seen more interesting artifacts at a general auction house viewing days.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing M, Education Project Manager at Worthing Museum and Art Gallery, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
We are very sorry that you didn't make it further into the museum than the lobby! We have a fantastic collection of objects on display ranging from stone-age archaeology to costume and social history. We would welcome you back to take a full tour of the musuem, it is surprisingly tardis-like!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Older children loved looking at the exhibits of old worthing, The gift shop has some nice little things to buy.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Worthing Museum and Art Gallery also viewed

 
Worthing, West Sussex
Worthing, West Sussex
 

Been to Worthing Museum and Art Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Worthing Museum and Art Gallery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.