We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Imperial China

Imperial China
Wordsworth Road, Worthing, England
01903820208
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 240 restaurants in Worthing
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Food was top notch in this restaurant. I did not have a booking but they accommodated me no problem. Staff were very attentive and if I have any negative to say it would be that it would have been to nice to have a little extra time between courses.
Not the cheapest restaurant I have been to but the food was worth every penny.
Please not they do add a service charge to the bill.
I will definitely be revisiting this gem.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    49
    19
    6
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Attentive staff, great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

A taxi driver from Littlehampton recommended Imperial China to us. I must say that we thought that the food was exceptional if a little expensive. The restaurant itself is beautiful and superbly furnished. Our visit to the Imperial was made on a wet, late, June afternoon, this was probably why we had the entire large restaurant to ourselves. The staff really looked after us well.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

After having a few drinks watching the sun set and the sea sparkle around the corner in The Burlington my partner and I thought we would try somewhere new and unlike us had done no research on looking where to go, so we walked 15 yards and walked through the doors of Imperial China. Well what a great suprise, the staff were excellent, the food top notch and the service so good. Can't praise this establishment any higher we had a fantastic time, quite plush surroundings/enviroment so gave the evening an elevated class that we were not expecting. The food though was the main event, fish so fresh and sublime in cooking, every dish we had was stand alone goodness. The Scallops were so good, so sweet and tender almost melt in your mouth we ordered another round, highly rate these guys if you are looking for good food, good service and feel that you have had a good night out. I would agree with some of the comments on the pricing but you get what you pay for is my view, we have eaten at J Sheekys which is uber good hugely expensive, however for me the Fish and service was better at Imperial China. We will return and it will be of interest to see if they can repeat it all again, we dearly hope so!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Family birthday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Another family birthday celebrated at The Imperial where as always we had a very enjoyable evening. The food was good quality and tasty with efficient service in attractive surroundings. The atmosphere is informal but the decor formal and attractive.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“nice meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Lovely meal and service. Probably a bit expensive. Staff very friendly. Restaurant very large. Quiet the night we went in but staff very obliging. Would happily return.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Imperial China also viewed

Worthing, West Sussex
Worthing, West Sussex
 
Worthing, West Sussex
Worthing, West Sussex
 

Been to Imperial China? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Imperial China, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.