We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy place to hang out” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Modello Bar - CLOSED

Modello Bar
Stars Lane, Yeovil BA20 1NR, England
01935 424500
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $12 - $33
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Poole, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Trendy place to hang out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Ate and drank here on a work night out, the spread of buffet was great and the staff were friendly and helpful to the group. The space is wide and you are not crammed in, the toilet facilities were clean and the live music was great. A cool place to hang out

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen S, Deputy Manager at Modello Bar, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for your positive review Wayne, our Thursday acoustic/open mic nights are increasingly popular, booking is essential. We work hard to ensure our standards, and service, remain the best out of all the bars in Yeovil, and we are glad you all chose Modello Bar & Kitchen for your works’ party. Furthermore, we look forward to welcoming you and your colleagues back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    6
    14
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
yeovil
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

The food is average (frozen I think) but what it lacks in the food department it makes up in the surroundings. Very nice venue, ideal for a party or christmas do. Music gets louder as the night goes on and it has a mixed crowd of all ages, which I loved.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Bad service.tasty food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

This was our second visit here
after last time we were expecting to get slow service but we were in no hurry.
Pizza is really good.and at £5 for any pizza .burger or sandwich it was a plus.
Downsides were the chef not wearing a hat even though having long hair.and a member of the barstaff helping in kitchen was not even in an apron .long hair.off putting.
Hygene standards on a par with visiting a friends for tea.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Saturday lunchtime”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Ate here Saturday 13th October . Nice looking place, although some of the seats and tables were so large and high I felt like I was 5 swinging my legs around(not a complaint, I chose to sit there, wouldn't again) Very quiet , only 2 other tables,again not a complaint, but frustrating that we still waited nearly 1/2 hour for food. When it arrived it was delicious ,decent portion , simply presented, and tasty. Also fairly priced . Meal for 3 side of garlic bread bottle of house wine and soft drink under £40. Will go again , worth the wait . Kitchen can be viewed from eating area and the chef whilst not a wookie needs to wear a hat. I'm chef myself and these things are important ,he'd wear one for an EHO inspection so he should wear one all the time .

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good food, bad service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Just a shame they cannot master the basics of customer service. Bar is often very slow and food service is shocking. You have to ask for your bill and for your plates to be taken away. If they can fix these issues then it would be a great place that Yeovil is in need of.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Modello Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Modello Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.