We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yeovil Court Hotel

Save Saved
You added Yeovil Court Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Yeovil Court Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   West Coker Rd., Yeovil BA20 2HE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 hotels in Yeovil
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Reasonable for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

I would expect a bit more for almost £90. Depending on the room, it can be quite small. The bathroom cleaning is good, but is a huge amount of dirt (human hair, crumbles) over the bed. I never slep deeply past 6am, due to inumerous noises, coming from the road and other rooms. The breakfast is simple, nothing special. My company's paying for it. If depending on me, I would choose another place to sleep in Yeovil, probably cheaper.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    39
    14
    12
    3
See reviews for
8
36
11
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Arrival: The hotel is situated off the main road therefore sharp turn to enter car park. Exiting to do a right hand turn is tricky
Reception:Friendly and helpful. Nice sunny day always helps.
Room: Luxury double in adjacent annex. Large large double bed, iron and ironing board, tea and coffee facilities. TV etc the usual. Free Wifi. Always helpful when on business.
Adjoining room with seat and couch plus dead bug (large blue bottle) in corner of room. Also perhaps previous occupants liked chicken as found chicken bone on carpet next to the table. Yuck. My traveling companion had a room in the hotel not the annex was rather startled by my find. (Just to mention my business companion got not a wink of sleep, walls thin and not very noise restrictive)!
Dining- Can be tricky when you travel so much. The menu was serious! No bangers and mash here. I opted for the turbot rested on bed of mash with mussels and seafood broth. Delicious got to say. We split the cheese board between us as the mains were really sufficient. I think if i was to stay here often i would be struggling with the menu. KFC or domino's 5 minutes away would probably get a visit.

My rooms were fine until about 4.30am ish when i was woken by the sound of running water. Yes the water tanks were above my bed. The noise was most annoying.........no way of sleeping through that! Tried the shower, it was the weirdest noise ever so had a bath instead. Towels were lovely and soft and white...... nice.
Next morning - breakfast was lovely, scrambled egg with salmon, companion had FE breakfast. Both delicious.
Back to room for departures- climbed down the somewhat scary staircase with my bags to greeted with the stench of smoke and then on existing the building got hit with the blue haze of smoke and ash! Had a business meeting in the morning and the smell of burnt grass/paper was unreal of my clothes and hair! The nearby fields were on fire which by all accounts is a ongoing issue. Stay again - yes but with ear plugs.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We arranged a trip to Yeovil at the last moment and found it difficult to find any accomodation. The Yeovil Court was the only hotel with rooms available. We soon realised why this was the case.
We booked via laterooms.com and were quoted £80. When we checked in, we were told that in fact, the room would be £102. After an awkward moment of silence, we were told that the manager would have to be consulted. We eventually paid the £80 we were originally quoted, but after seeing the room, we felt that this was excessive.
We stayed in room 25, within an out building at the back of the car park. The window did not close or lock properly, which meant that we were uneasy about leaving our personal belongings in the room while we were out. We had our bags in the cupboards so that they could not be viewed from the window. We reported this to reception but were told it couldn't be fixed until the following day.
The bed was comfortable, but we noticed a number of stains on the sheets. The sofa, carpet and curtains were also heavily stained. The furniture was very badly marked and generally quite dated. The bathroom was adequate, but not overly clean.
The service at breakfast was rather slow, even though the kitchen and restuarant seemed very well manned. We waited 15 minutes to be served despite the fact that there were very few people in the restaurant.
I find it hard to believe that this is the number 1 hotel in Yeovil (according to tripadvisor reviews). Having looked online, it seems there is very little competition in Yeovil. I do not believe I have been overly harsh in my review or too picky. I don't think this hotel provides good value for money.
I would not stay here again. Overall, poor service and tired rooms. Definately not worth £80, let alone £102!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I stayed one night, travelling alone, on Saturday 8th September and was very impressed with this hotel. Had a double room for sole use at a good price from booking.com. Everything clean and in good shape, nice garden area with tables outside, plenty of room for parking. I had a slight misunderstanding with the hotel owner in the bar but this was of no importance and soon resolved. The restaurant is really first class,both for dinner and breakfast. In my opinion the owner and staff do a great job here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

The restaurant is fantastic, new menu is just delicious and service wonderful. 5*.
Initial impressions were that the hotel might be a little dated but the friendliness, location and food has outweighed completely. Perfect for a women on her own. Very good value, easy to book. About 10 minutes out of town.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

It's o.k. but not memorable for any particularly good reasons save the VERY helpfull, courteous and polite staff. Up graded to a suite, rather grand description in reality. The room just didn't flow, lounge area had a triple seat settee and two arm chairs with draws and occasional furniture as well (for TWO people?). Sleeping area was adequate but the miniature t.v. could not be seen from this part of the room. Bathroom was reasonably clean and included basic toileteries. Curtains in general and on the door in particular were rather tired and they barely covered the aperture. Tried the bar and found the local brew was actually 'sour' suspected out of date stock but was told that the cider line had been swapped for the bitter line. Breakfast was first rate and as earlier the staff, front of house, bar and at breakfast were first rate.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederikssund, Denmark
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

The rooms are very tiny, the best thing to say about the minute bathroom is, that is had a Continental Europe power outlet. Furniture looks and feels like something from the fifties. Probably is. Everything about this hotel is small, that's what makes it great. The bar is so cool, and what is quite rare for a hotel, the restaurant is actually good. Service is the British way: Very polite indeed and with a little bid of stiff upper lip. Surroundings: Almost second to none in rural England.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Yeovil Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yeovil Court Hotel

Address: West Coker Rd., Yeovil BA20 2HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Yeovil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 hotels in Yeovil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Yeovil Court Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A privately owned independent, stylish hotel set in the South West of England.Situated on the outskirts of Yeovil, nestling between picturesque rolling countryside and the convenience of town facilities, the hotel is ideally located as a base for business or pleasure with easy access to the A303, A30 and M5 motorway. The Yeovil Court Hotel is known for its excellent food and quality service at a sensible price. It has received significant acclaim and has a strong following from home and overseas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Yeovil Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yeovil Court Hotel Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yeovil Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.