We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mattia Diner

Mattia Diner
Camel Hill,, Yeovil BA22 7PH, England
+44 1935 851715
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 141 Restaurants in Yeovil
Cuisines: Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night
Somerset
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We didn't really know what to expect when we pulled in for brunch, but straightaway were pleasantly surprised by the helpful and polite staff, the cleanliness of the restaurant, the reasonable prices and good choices on the menu. I had a light brunch - poached eggs on granary toast which was cooked and presented perfectly. There were many choices of coffee which seemed a bit of a speciality there, plus tea and cold drinks. Beers and wine also available. The 'American' decor was bright and interesting, the dining tables were wide enough to comfortably accommodate meals for four people, and the seats were comfortable to sit on. As part of the scene there was 'rock and roll' music playing continuously which may be a little off-puting to some as occasionally it got a bit loud - however we may not have noticed that had the restaurant been full at the time (we were there mid way between time for breakfast and time for lunch). Overall a good experience and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend calling there.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    44
    10
    13
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Ecellent breakfast, money well spent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Fed up with all the old fashioned cafe chain along the a303, so this was a surprise. I had the smaller veggie breakfast and a coffee. Coffee was hot and tasty and a good size. Food was fresh, well cooked and good. The thick granary toast was brilliant as it came already buttered so it was soft fluffy and light. Very friendly staff. Good value, spotless place, great decor. Attention to detail. It never occured to me it wouldnt have an american menu. Who cares with all the theatre of the place, and i think that as long as food is done well, thats all that matters, but in this case the decor is a bonus, just enjoy it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, Dorset
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

Would highly recommend this place. Very good food, generous portions and friendly staff. I had the fudge cake which was one of the best desserts I've ever had.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Awful!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stopped in here on our way back from a holiday in Cornwall. I persuaded my husband to try this out after I read reviews on tripadvisor but really wish we had gone to macdonalds.
The waitress was pleasant and the actual decor was very 1950's and fun. However the food was dreadful. I was recommended the ribs. When they came out I put my fork in and the meat was that tough, the rib fell off my plate and onto the floor covering me in cold, yes cold, BBQ sauce. I sent them back. I wouldnt even give those ribs to a dog! I reordered a burger which is marketed as 'gourmet'. There was nothing gourmet about it. It was edible but I would not have it again. This diner has so much potential but they need to invest in a proper chef and do some proper american cooking!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“quick coffee and bacon sandwich stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

i was entirely dubious of the fast food american diner style, but decided to give it a chance. i'm not sorry i did. We ordered take out for the long journey to cornwall ahead. The lattes were fantastic and the door stop bacon sandwiches were a great surprise. I hadn't fully understood the response when i asked if they did bacon rolls / sandwiches, but when they arrived i realised doorstop really meant doorstop! they were fantastic and came very quickly. Just what we wanted. if i find myself on the A303 again, i'll be stopping in for sure!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mattia Diner also viewed

 
Yeovil, Somerset
 

Been to Mattia Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mattia Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.