We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEVER AGAIN!!!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Pen Mill Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pen Mill Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pen Mill Hotel
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Sherborne Road, Yeovil BA21 5DB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 26 Yeovil B&B and Inns
Crewkerne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“NEVER AGAIN!!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I have just read some of the other reviews.....mmm....are we talking about a different place? The food was at best very very average! Sunday Carvery...roast potatoes that were a danger to your teeth biting into them. Beef overcooked. Pork very small portion. Crackling soggy. Carrots raw. cauliflower cheese with no cheese taste.Mashed swede with lumps in. There were 41 of us and to their credit they did organize things well. The place needs money spent on it. At 10.95 its the dearest I have eaten at for a Sunday lunch too.Poor food. Poor value. Sorry!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    3
    3
    5
    0
See reviews for
13
11
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

we stayed one night we were down visiting family. on arrival freindly greeting though somewhat shocked we were staying? room was clean, broken drawer and no information about hotel area or anything except for fire notice. it was a very long and busy night food was average but hot. went to bed. busy road outside quiet noisy we went down for breakfast at 9.15 shouted and noone around went outside came back in by now 9.25 shouted again and were told by a cleaner that breakfast finished half hour ago... and it should have said on the sign in room the times..what sign? oh you didnt have one..no... oh well its finished. never saw anyone to say what actual time breakfast should have been but to be honest nothing was laid for breakfast and no signs of anyone else having had it. i would like a refund of our breakfast back if anyone there bothers to read their reviews. would not stay again without an apology and refund.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

My daughter has previously had a roast dinner at the Pen Mill Hotel and lobbied hard to get us to go there again. Well today we returned to the Pen Mill and enjoyed the best carvery I've ever had! Usually pubs and hotels manage to produce good Sunday Roasts but fail in one area, normally the potatoes - however the Pen Mill is the exception, everything was superb.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I have visited this hotel a few times for something to eat and or drink and on average have had a nice time and the food has been adaquate, you get what you pay for, but i have to say i went for a meal there recently with my wife, sister and mother and have to say i was dissapointed, i did not feel we had value for money, the chicken fillets were dry and over cooked, you needed a microscope to see any barbacue sauce, presentation was poor, apple pie and custard, very tight with the custurd, i could go on but feel this is enough to portray my thoughts, not sure if we will return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wool, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Pen Mill for only one night & I hate to say it but that was more than enough. The bar area looked very modern & welcoming but it hid the poor quality of the rooms. Going from the bar you move through a door in to the land that time forgot. The foyer area to the stairs looked like a dumping ground for the Hoover and unused office furniture and an extremely tired sofa (see photo's) The room was reasonable but cables hung out of the tv to a plug a couple of metres away, I'm sure this contravenes some health & safety rules! The room was in desperate need of redecoration and has no air conditioning which meant the window had to left open and apart from the continuous noise of traffic we had the waft of smokers sitting below the window and were subjected to their revelry, which got louder the more they drank. This went on well past closing. But by far the worst part of the stay was the ensuite, this really was disgusting, stains on the walls, holes and missing & cracked tiles. There were cobwebs (huge ones!) in a the corners, including in the dining room. All in all, this is a very tired hotel that needs significant investment to bring it up to an average standard. There is no doubt there is potential for a wonderful hotel but my advice would be to steer clear until it has had a visit from 'The Hotel Inspector' and significant updating. Sorry to be brutally honest but in these economic times there are far better places to spend your hard earned cash

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marlowuk
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Although Inn is on a very busy A road,traffic disturbance was minimal.
From check in which was early to normal 1400 hrs staff at bar reception were extremely obliging and allowed us in having made sure that room was ready.
The attitude of the staff was without doubt the friendliest and accommodating I have encountered in a long time ( I have spent my working life in an airline environment in a customer service position and the young people we met here could well have taught many airline staff how to be polite,smile,and still after a 12 hour shift really make you welcome)
The food was superb,honestly priced and beautifully presented.
The star was the owner who seemed to be everywhere, but his completely customer service orientaion has obviously rubbed off on his staff who seemed very happy in their role-will naturally stay here again and wholeheartedly recommend The Penmill to all.Thankyou!!
One little niggle-the sign outside advertises CREAM TEA'S-There is no apostrophe in Teas as it is plural and does not belong as in e.g Penmill's beers i.e. beer belonging to Penmill.sorry but had to have a little dig!! thanks for a wonderful but short stay

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

the place is amazing.the food was great the touliets are very clean and no poo was found anywhere id go again any day and have a drink with friends there its not to cheap but not to dear. If you wanted to chosse anuther place rather than the penn mill go **** your self as its amazingly cool place to go. i love the penn mill yeovil

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pen Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pen Mill Hotel

Address: Sherborne Road, Yeovil BA21 5DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Yeovil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Yeovil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pen Mill Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A popular Yeovil Hotel Bar & Restaurant. Located on the main A30 midway between London & Cornwall. The beautiful old coaching inn was built in the 1850's & is now owned by husband & wife, Jon & Sarah. The Hotel rooms have just undergone a £200,000 refurbishment scheme, which will definitely put the small family run hotel on the map. All 8 of the beautiful guestrooms are slightly individual with King or Superking sized beds, 32" Panasonic Smart televisions, ensuite bathrooms, & perfectly designed quaint features.To compliment the stunning rooms, the well established bar & restaurant offers a relaxed setting to enjoy a perfectly kept pint & traditionally cooked local food. The ever popular Sunday Carvery is a highlight. Served from 12pm until around 6pm, Three Somerset Meats are offered alongside Homemade Yorkshire Puddings which would put Aunt Bessie to shame!, Beautifully roasted Maris Piper potatoes, Honey parsnips, & large selection of vegetables including cauliflower cheese plus gluten free gravy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Pen Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pen Mill Hotel Yeovil, Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pen Mill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.