We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Find, Good Value For Money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pen Mill Hotel

Pen Mill Hotel
Sherborne Rd, Yeovil, England
+44 1935 423081
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 155 Restaurants in Yeovil
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Pen Mill Hotel is a well established business in the area that for the past 10 years under the same family ownership has been fast gaining a reputation for quality food and drink. Using local, independent suppliers wherever possible. In February 2014 we undertook an almost £200,000 refurbishment of the hotel bedrooms. This has now bought us above the local and indeed national average for quality in hotel rooms. Combine this with our ever popular bar and restaurant and you have a quality establishment that unlike many others has a personality with a family atmosphere!
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Find, Good Value For Money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Having always drove past this Hotel, we thought we'd stop off for a drink as it was so hot. Inside was very spacious and nice modern seating, this was also a dog friendly pub which was nice to see. There was also numerous seating arrangements outside, Having browsed through the lunchtime menu we decided to opt for the jacket potatoe range which was absolutely fantastic, my mum had camembert and bacon with side salad and coleslaw, and I opted for the good old slimming world favourite cheese and beans with side salad.

The staff were very friendly and made you feel welcome, nothing was too much trouble.

So a big thumbs up to The Pen Mill !!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    21
    14
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Quick service, food quality not very good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Went for Sunday carvery, roast potatoes like rocks, Possibly new potatoes used!! Could not eat them. Some of the veg was over cooked.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Been here a couple of times for food. The food has always been cooked well and generally tasting better than average.
Service has always been very good and the atmosphere friendly and relaxed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Nice food, excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I am local and have been to the Pen Mill many times, both for lunch and during the evening as I used to work down the road. The food is nice, plenty to choose from, plenty of places to sit, there is always a good atmosphere in there and the staff are always so friendly and helpful - the service is excellent and nothing is too much trouble.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Mothers day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We chose this hotel for our mothers day meal and were not disappointed. We had an early sitting and were concerned that we would not have enough time to e joy a relaxed meal. Our worked were unfounded as due to the efficiency of the staff we didn't feel that we were rushed at all. The food was very good and more than sufficient. For a very popular venue the service is excellent.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pen Mill Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Pen Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pen Mill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.