We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Thoroughly Pleasurable Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Green Arches Bed & Breakfast

Green Arches Bed & Breakfast
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Green Arches Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Green Arches Bed & Breakfast
1 Southwoods, Yeovil BA20 2QQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 26 Yeovil B&B and Inns
ORPINGTON
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Thoroughly Pleasurable Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

I have stayed at Green Arches B & B on three occasions in the last four years and having travelled extensively around the UK in that time, I can safely say that this is one of the very best in terms of comfort, cleanliness and value for money. Paul is an excellent host, his rooms and bathrooms are very spacious and although only a 5 minute walk from the main town centre, Southwoods is a very quiet location and feels far further removed. So I would thoroughly recommend this to anyone visiting this most beautiful part of the country.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
27
6
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

We chose this B&B after reading the enthusiatic reviews on your site, and were very pleased to find that everything said was absolutely true. Very comfortable room, exceptionally spacious bathroom, excellent breakfast and wonderful hospitality thanks to Paul, the owner. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HANTS
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2009

We came across Green Arches in Yeovil by chance; the function we were attending was about 5 miles outside of Yeovil but the B&B that was nearby was full and they recommended Green Arches. We were welcomed on arrival and shown to our fabulous room which was of a high standard. We asked about local facilities and were given a rundown of where to go and what to do. I enquired about a local Taxi which could bring us back from our function as we would drive there; the issue would be picking the car up in the morning. Paul the owner offered to take us to our function which would significantly help us out. Breakfast was first class and hot off the stove. I am reasonably well travelled but would find it hard to look back and try and think of a standard of hospitality that would match Green Arches.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2009

This B&B has all the modern appointsments that you would find in a 4* Hotel. The owner/operator provides a full English Breakfast upon request. Coffee, and Tea were available in the room, a rare treat in Europe. The B&B is adjacent to a park with trails, great for an early morning walk.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Country
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2008

I have been a regular visitor to the Green Arches as a consequence of my work in the area. I stayed at the hotel in late 2007 after spending nights at a number of other hotels in the region. As a result of that first visit I decided to stay at the hotel at every opportunity. The owner, Mr Paul Gasser, oversaw the original conversion the property himself and he has invested a substantial amount of pride and good judgement into turning it into a sanctuary of peace and calm within the Yeovil area. The rooms are light and airy and fitted with the latest in media. They are all en-suite and they are invariably clean and well tended. Mr Gasser cooks the breakfast himself and it is the best breakfast you will get anywhere. The amazing thing is that all of this comes at an excellent rate that is extremely competitive. I have stayed at several of the bigger hotels which charge in the region of £100/night and I have to say that on every account they are either equatable or inferior to the Green Arches, despite the significantly cheaper cost. I would recommend the Green Arches unreservedly if you want a quiet, cordial and comfortable place to stay.

  • Liked — Comfort of rooms
  • Disliked — Proximity to road although double glazing reduces noise to a minimum
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Green Arches Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Arches Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1 Southwoods, Yeovil BA20 2QQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Yeovil
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Yeovil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Green Arches is ideally suited to both business and leisure guests. We offer you homely accommodations that will ensure a comfortable and relaxing atmosphere for those who wish to visit Yeovil on business or to explore the beautiful scenery in our part of England. We pride ourselves on the hearty and traditional English Breakfast that we serve, and the food we provide is, where possible, sourced locally and either organic or free range in origin. Our aim is simple: to achieve your satisfaction, by exceeding your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Green Arches Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Arches Bed & Breakfast Yeovil, Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Arches Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.