We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Functionally fab” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cineworld Ashford

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cineworld Ashford
Eureka Entertainment Centre, Ashford TN25 4BN , England
0871 200 2000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 19 Activities in Ashford
Type: Movie Theaters, Amusement
Attraction details
Faversham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Functionally fab”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Its warm, comfortable, friendly....plus as the popcorn portions keep shrinking, its easier to keep the weight off!!!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    41
    29
    5
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
75 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“PROBABLY AS GOOD AS THEY COME”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We are not frequent cinema goers, visiting no more than 3 to 4 times a year.

Certainly here you have a wide choice of the latest films shown in comfortable, excellent screen visibility, clean surroundings, a very easy booking in advance on-line facility, and oodles of adjacent car parking. In easy walking distance are 7 or so well known chain restaurants for those wanting to make an event of the day/evening.

I would like to compliment the operators on catering to the almost totally deaf amongst the audience by having an incredibly high level of sound. It comes as a shock initially to those non-frequenters of eardrum endangering disco's, clubs and gastro-pubs, and does nothing to enhance the auditory experience of the majority of the audience.

With regard to the cost of refreshments, I understand the operators make little or nothing from the admission prices but rely on excessively over-pricing drinks, popcorn etc to cover their running costs and eke out a modicum of profit.....ahh! If you do not like being massively over-charged then do not buy at the cinema.......you make the choice.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Hit and miss”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We go to the cinema at least twice a month and have noticed how slipshod things have become in Ashford Cineworld. A little while ago there were numerous out of order signs everywhere. I do wonder about the staff training, too - there seems little finesse. We went to see a 3-D movie recently, and after 10 minutes' fuzzy imagery, my husband went out to grab the attention of someone to rectify it. The response: "Oh, yeah, it sounds like someone has not slipped the correct lens on the camera again. It happens occasionally." So we missed the first few minutes of the "3D" movie - no apologies. On another occasion, my 80-year-old mother went to buy herself a drink, and the unscrupulous teen behind the counter sold her the largest TUB of Coke without asking her what she wanted first. It was busy so we had no way of getting it sorted out.
Like many others we are tired of the expensive snacks, so we often bring our own at about a third of the price.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Unlimited holder”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

As an unlimited card holder, I frequently go to the cinema. Hardly ever have any major complaints other then the prices for drinks etc.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Big place but no VIP service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Clean tidy and safe environment. Food and drinks very expensive but film cost reasonable. Nearby restaurants make it easy to have a meal out after

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cineworld Ashford also viewed

 

Been to Cineworld Ashford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cineworld Ashford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.