We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Greek food outside of Greece.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Taverna

The Taverna
1st Floor, New Chimneys, Loudon Way, Ashford TN23 3JJ, England
01233 636871
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 174 Restaurants in Ashford
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The best Greek food outside of Greece.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Booked based on review and we were not disappointed. Superb Greek/Cypriot food served brilliantly by a friendly, knowledgeable waiter in a relaxing atmosphere. Just go!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    10
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
1 review
“if only Ashford knew about this fantastic greek restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We visited the Taverna about two weeks ago after a friend recommended it to us, not knowing what to order the waiter recommended us to have the meze at £18,50 per head, The food was fantastic, the waiter who was not greek described every dish which came to our table, I have lived in Ashford for many years and have never received service like this before, he was absolutely brilliant. The décor is a little dated, apart from that a very enjoyable evening. Will definitely go back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkhurst, England
1 review
“Delicious,great service and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We went to the Taverna for our valentines evening meal. My partner and myself both had the meze as we both wanted to try a variety of traditional dishes. The food kept coming and coming and each of the dishes was absolutely delicious. The staff were amazing and the whole restuarant had a lovely atmosphere. I could not fault anything.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food and even better service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Had a fanastic Meze here last last night. We decided to pick our own bits instead of choosing the set Meze and everything we had was delicious. Fantastic service by our waiter, who was faultless. It was a nice touch for the Cypriot owner to pop round the tables and say hello. Would definitely recommend and we will be returning.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Authentic Greek food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Been to The Taverna in other past with family and loved it. This time I took a couple of friends and they loved it too. Makes a great change from the normal choice of Indian or stake houses in Ashford. We have been to Greece a few times and I would say the Taverna is really authentic. The owner/chef is Greek and clearly enthusiastic about his country's cuisine.

Both times I have opted for the Mezza which includes lots of variety, and ideal if you are new to Greek food.

The service is great and the tables have lots of room, mostly separated in booths, so lots of privacy. We went there on a Saturday night and it was virtually empty - no idea why! I can only think that most people Ashford just don't know it's there!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Taverna also viewed

 

Been to The Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Taverna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.