We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Orb in Concert” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St Mary The Virgin Church

St Mary The Virgin Church
The Churchyard, Ashford TN23 1QG, England
01233 620 672
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 55 things to do in Ashford
Attraction details
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The Orb in Concert”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

An interesting experience in a unique setting - We will definitely be attending future events at St Mary's.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    2
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
kent
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
61 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“A church that has been re-fitted”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

I used to have my end of term school church services here so can remember it back to the early 1970´s. A couple of years ago, much to the annoyance of one of the clergy who made a vallid, but lone protest, the pews were taken out and replaced with easy-to-move modern chairs.This was not toeveryone's taste, but the church has emerged stronger and can now host concerts.Eddi Reader and Gaz Coombs have both played here recently. It is a useful venue in a town starved of things to and whose centre is full of pound shops, kebab shops and estate agents - a shocking drop in standards from years ago.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Highworth carol concert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We visited this church for first time since its contreversal refurb to listen to the carols ,
Wow wow wow stunning mix of historic and modern features that made a beautiful setting

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good entertainment for Ashford!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Having spent years moaning about the lack of a concert space in Ashford, I've found myself at Ashford Church twice lately for music events, I'm embarrassed to say that I hadn't realised what a good venue this has been turned into. Firstly, they have an imaginative range of events, which are of excellent quality, it's also a really nice space. Still used as a church so not "wetherspoonised" and full of history (something to look at when you're waiting for the entertainment to start) but it's a good size with nice acoustic and so ideal for music performances. I'd highly recommend checking out what's going on as its not huge and you'd want to be booking tickets.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Lovely Christening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This is a beautiful church for a special event and our thanks go out to the minister who made the Christening of our grand-daughters such a special day, coping with a church full of children of all ages! I would have liked to take longer as it is a lovely church to explore.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St Mary The Virgin Church also viewed

 

Been to St Mary The Virgin Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Mary The Virgin Church, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.