We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quintessential England!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eastwell Manor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Eastwell Manor to your Saves list
Eastwell Manor
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Eastwell Park, Boughton Lees, Ashford TN25 4HR , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Ashford
london
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Quintessential England!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2010

What a lovely surprise to be in Eastwell Manor for a work meeting - lovely food, excellent service, and great facilities. I swam every day and also went to the gym where classes were excellent.
It snowed one morning I was there and the staff where ready to salt/grit the walkways and bring out th snow plough for ease of walking. If only our lcoal councils were so efficient!
Excellent breakfast with great range of fruits, james and delicious eggs and croissants. Very good cleaning in the rooms and well stocked with sewing kits, shampoo, towels etc.
Only feedback would be that the swimming pool is a bit too warm and the coffee in all the locations needs to be stronger or fresher- maybe it was the water as well, but the coffee wasnt strong enough (even though the metal cafeteiere were very smart!) Maybe Nespresso machines for a small extra charge? Or freshly ground beans? And a business centre - however small - for those who did not bring a laptop (although there is wifi) ro need to print things.

Overall though, many thanks for a great stay - especially Phil and the other dining staff who couldnt do enough for the guests. I think I need to go on a crash diet now after all those delicious cookies.....!
Perfect for all, but especially for non-UK tourists who want to be transported into a cosy workd of the best of British: damson jam, tweed sofas, paoched eggs, and be happy sipping port in the beautiful bar overlooking the gardens whilst reading the papers.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    143
    64
    39
    43
See reviews for
96
264
6
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
london
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2010

i stayed here on dec 09 for my work xmas party .the service was very good and the staff

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

We spent New Year's Eve and the following night at Eastwell Manor, we were a party of 8 and shared two 2 bedroom mews cottages. We went to the party in the Pavillion on New Year's Eve and ate in the manor restaurant the next night.
I made my first enquiry about New Year in August as from experience I know how quickly places fill up. Eastwell Manor already had their Christmas and New Year brochure on-line. The booking team couldn't be more helpful, the woman I spoke to was even able to describe what the "tone" of the party in the pavillion was going to be like (in her words: not too formal, the men don't have to wear black tie but the ladies can wear sparkly dresses - she was exactly right). There was a set meal with just one choice or a veggie alternative per course and a disco until 1am. As hotel New Year's Eve dinner and dances go it was OK but the lack of food choices was a bit disappointing (we would happily have pre-ordered if it meant a wider selection of things being available).
The meal in the manor restaurant the next night was good - the wine list is extensive and the restaurant well staffed, though it did take 40 minutes for 6 coffees and 2 teas to be served at the end of the meal. We had one breakfast in the Pavillion and one in the manor house, both were very good with plenty of choices.
The mews cottages are good places to stay in, we shared Ivy and Foxglove. Foxglove had by far the better downstairs living area. The cottages are clean and the bedrooms really well equipped but the decor is looking a bit dated (especially in Ivy) and the cottages have ancient TVs and video players.
The leisure centre is excellent - the swiming pool is huge and the little pool with the water jets great fun. We didn't have treatments as the spa was closed on New Year's Day.
The grounds at Eastwell Manor are beautiful; we woke up to snow on New Year's Day which made everything look even more lovely. The house is wonderful, made even more special by the addition of the Christmas decorations.
Six of us stayed at Eastwell Manor about 6 years ago (a weekend break between Christmas and New Year) and we were blown away by it. One of our party thought it wasn't as good this time; I thought it was still a lovely place to stay and the mews cottages make it much more affordable. The 2 of our party who hadn't been before thought the hotel and leisure centre were great. I'm afraid we all thought the New Year 's Eve do was a bit average.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2009

we arrived to a lovely hotel and the room was very nice and clean it did look over the car park we had to open the windows as it was quite warm in the room but overall it was a lovely stay , we didnt want to come home back to reality

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2009

We stayed for 4 weeks in the Hotel Mews Cottages as part of our relocation. When we arrived the cottage was dusty, with dead spiders and cobwebs around the windows, it was a period where spiders were prevalent, however it was clear this cottage had not been properly cleaned. We did request a cleaner and no one came, a woman did come with a feather duster and did not use it just said it would be cleaned the following day - it wasn't.

The cottages say they have an equipped kitchen, however this was a microwave and a two ring hob, we did ask if they had a small oven and the answer was just "no".

We had several minor issues over the period and the staff were totally disengaged and not interested/responsive. Even though we were there for 4 weeks there was no courtesy service call or visit to see how we were getting or or whether we were happy. This is not what I expect from an expensive and supposedly high star hotel.

The beds were old with no duvets and frankly quite archaic blankets and covers that didn't actually fit the size of the bed i.e. double bed cover with valance on a king size bed, which did not create a luxurious feeling it seemed second rate.

I understand that we weren't there under normal circumstances; however it isn't somewhere I would want to spend money.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2009

My husband and I spent one night here as part of a spa break. The building itself and grounds are lovely. Our room however was very small and overlooked the car park. The heating was on and the room so warm that we had to open a window, this meant that we could hear all the sounds from the car park VERY clearly, particularly the group of men who met before 7 am the next morning and talked very loudly before going off shooting. There were tea and coffee making facilities in the room, bottles of water, a plate of fruit and small decanters of sherry which were a nice touch. When my husband booked he was encouraged to go for a Mews Cottage but as it was a romantic night away he wasn't keen on the idea of sharing a living room. In hindsight this may have been a better option.

The swimming pool area is lovely, we particularly enjoyed the jacuzzi pool. A spa treatment was included in the package but these were the cheaper treatments and my husband found the dry flotation tank rather disappointing and my 20 minute head, neck
and shoulder massage was nice but too short!

We ate in the Manor Restaurant. My husband had a lovely meal, the best venison he has had, as a strict vegetarian I found the food very average and quite disappointing. Mushroom soup and pumpkin risotto are not my idea of haute cuisine and things I could and do easily cook at home. In the morning the cooked breakfast menu was a full English which I had to request minus the bacon and sausage, no separate egg menu which I was surprised by.

Overall the facilities are good but I was disappointed with the room and the food. My husband thought the food lovely and he slept through the noise!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2009

stayed at eastwell manor the day after we got married as the next day we were going to the Eurostar. We had a wonderful time!
The grounds are beautiful, our room was lovely and the bathroom was huge.
We had champagne in our room and the service we received was great.
We had drinks in the bar then got escorted to dinner where there was a pianist playing and again the service was great.
It is a lot of money to stay there but for a special occasion it is really worth it.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Eastwell Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastwell Manor

Address: Eastwell Park, Boughton Lees, Ashford TN25 4HR , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Ashford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Ashford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eastwell Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Eastwell Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastwell Manor Ashford, Kent
Eastwell Manor Hotel Ashford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eastwell Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.