We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy hotel on way to Disneyland Paris” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Ashford - Central

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Ashford - Central to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Ashford - Central
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Canterbury Road, Ashford TN24 8QQ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Ashford
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Comfy hotel on way to Disneyland Paris”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Firstly I must thank Bindiya, the reception manager for organising a super room for our overnight before getting the ferry from Dover to Calais. We very much appreciated the whirlpool bath and comfy bed. The room was spotless, and the requested cot was present for our daughter. My only complaint was the travel cot provided was rather old and sagged in the middle. I wish Holiday Inn would invest in some nice solid cots with proper cot mattresses. That said it was adequate for 1 night when padded with the cushions from the sofa.

We arrived late after a long journey down from the North and a detour off the M20 due to operation stack so did not have dinner in ther restaurant. Therefore we cannot comment on the quality of the food however there are plenty of fast food restaurants in the area and a pub chain over the road from the hotel.

We did not try the breakfast as we had an early start but the complimentary tea and coffee in reception was much appreciated and put us on until we could get breakfast on the ferry. This was a reward nights stay and the bonus 500 points voucher was a nice touch.

Room Tip: Contact the lovely girls on reception with any requests and they wilkl do their best to help
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ashford - Central, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear MeetTheParents,

Thank you so much for your feedback which we have certainly taken on board. Our receptionist team were delighted that you have mentioned them.

I am so pleased that you have enjoyed the benefits of being a member of our Priority Club and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Kind regards,

Richard Metcalfe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    129
    86
    31
    24
See reviews for
111
119
14
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
poole
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Spent a Saturday night here with my husband and two daughters, our room was lovely and warm on arrival, which was very welcome as we were very cold from a walk! The girls beds were made up ready and the room had everything we needed. All slept well and enjoyed a leisurely hearty breakfast, the chef appearing several times and checking all was ok, and would make fried eggs to order! All the staff we came across were very friendly and helpful. Would definately come again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ashford - Central, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear beckajohnson,

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. I am absolutely delighted that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay at our hotel.

I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Richard Metcalfe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friedrichshafen, Deutschland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a lovely room (114) and found it fine, if not totally up to date. Bed was comfortable. Plumbing a little loud. Reception staff, breakfast staff and chambermaids were all very helpful and friendly. Breakfast choice and quality was good except: the reconstituted scrambled egg is not HI worthy. On request, you can get fried eggs which I highly recommend. Otherwise a super three night stay. Admittedly, we (wife and I) didn't use bar or restaurant in the evenings.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ashford - Central, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear 58RichardM,

Thank you so much for your review.

I am delighted that you found our staff to be helpful and friendly, also that you enjoyed your room.

I do hope you will come back to the Holiday Inn Ashford Central again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Richard Metcalfe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great example of Holiday Inn. Lovely staff, and good rooms, I asked for a quiet room and it was quiet. Stupid price for WiFi, not even a 30 mins free session and the bar was on the pricey side. I would have rated this as 5 but for the WiFi, if that is not important then a good price, good location and lovely staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ashford - Central, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Nigel H,

thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. I have taken this opportunity to share your positive feedback about the staff and rooms with my team. I also want to thank you for your comments regarding our Wi-Fi. In order to provide the safest, fastest possible networking we have invested significantly in the latest equipment and internet provision and it is always appreciated when our guests give us feedback on this.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Regards

Richard Metcalfe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penarth - south wales
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

I stay at this hotel fairly often. Reception staff always polite and helpful. I always ask for a quiet room and get one. Stayed in for food on Wednesday night and it was ok. Should have raised at the time but after a long drive and day did not feel up to it. Cray fish salad was dry and flavourless, steak was very fatty but chips and sides good! Slept well but missed the coffee that used to be served on check out. Location and car parking cant be faulted.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, Manager at Holiday Inn Ashford - Central, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Marcus_Rees_Davies,

thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the hotel. I was pleased to read that you usually stay with us and enjoy your trips but it was disappointing to see that we failed to deliver on our promise of consistently great Food. I have taken your comments regarding the steak and crayfish and followed up with our suppliers and the Kitchen team to ensure that we learn from the issues you encountered.

I do hope that can welcome you back to the hotel soon.

regards
Richard Metcalfe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Great location, for a relaxing evening after a day in France excellent factilites, easy access from the motorway. Room are fab and roomy plenty of towels provided, food in the hotel is great both for evening meal and buffet breakfast. Car parking is easy and plentyful Cannot wait to return next year

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, Manager at Holiday Inn Ashford - Central, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Welshbonkers,
thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Ashford Central. I was pleased to read that you found our rooms, facilities, food and parking provided everything you needed. I look forward to welcoming you back next year so that you can try the fantastic new breakfast that we will be launching this month.

regards

Richard Metcalfe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
283 reviews 283 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night before heading across in the tunnel to France (10-15 minutes drive from the tunnel). The hotel had plenty of parking and was ways to find. We received a warm greeting and was upgraded even though both room were paid for using Priority Club points. Would stay there again in preference to the Holiday Inn Express.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ashford - Central, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. I was delighted to hear that you received a warm welcome on arrival and found our hotel well suited for your needs. I do hope we can welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Ashford Central again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Ashford - Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Ashford - Central

Address: Canterbury Road, Ashford TN24 8QQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Ashford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Ashford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Ashford - Central 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Ashford Central is ideally situated to meet the needs of both business and leisure travellers. The hotel is within easy reach of the Eurostar terminal at Ashford International Station, with links to Disneyland Paris. The hotel is also close to M20 Motorway, Canterbury, Eurotunnel Le Shuttle & Dover Ferry Port for City D'Europe. The hotel offers rooms ranging from Executive, Accessible to Family rooms which are all fully air-conditioned with high-speed Internet access in all the bedrooms, meeting rooms and lounge/lobby. The venue is licensed for civil weddings and can accommodate large parties up to 140 guests with a private bar. There are 6 meeting rooms with air conditioning & natural daylight available for small and large scale meetings. Holiday Inn Ashford Central provides an ideal base for visiting local attractions including: Canterbury Cathedral, Leeds Castle, Howletts & Port Lympne Wild Animal Park, Romney & Hythe Dymchurch Railway & McArthur Glen Designer Shopping Outlet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Ashford - Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ashford - Central Hotel Ashford
Ashford Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Ashford - Central Kent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Ashford - Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.