We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AS COLD AS THE NORTH POLE!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ashford Designer Outlet

Ashford Designer Outlet
Kimberley Way, Ashford TN24 0SD, England
+44 1233 895900
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Shopping in Ashford
Type: Malls, Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We have over 80 stores including Ted Baker, Tommy Hilfiger, Lacoste and Links of London Outlet all at up to 60% off RRP.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
75 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“AS COLD AS THE NORTH POLE!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Unless it is a reasonable day weather-wise do not, repeat DO NOT eat in the food hall. When we ate there a few days ago it was absolutely freezing, so much so that many of those there wore their hoodies up, or scarves wrapped around their ears. In fact, one of our party, our young grandson, was so cold, he refused his McDonald and pleaded to leave.

There were some hanging heaters, but perhaps through their height above ground or just the size of the area to be heated, offered virtually no respite from the bitterly cold atmosphere. Even two ladies working in one of the food booths said that they were so cold that they had to continually put their hands in hot water to try and get a modicum of heat into their bodies.

A brief time in the Food Hall was so miserable that we rushed to our cars to warm up, and gave up on visiting the rest of the Designer Outlet.

That an internationally famed architect designed and an experienced Property Company developed this Food Hall so badly so as to render it 'unsuitable for purpose' is indeed a mystery.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    72
    43
    6
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dartford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Ok for a rainy day”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Not a bad retail outlet centre, just not the best. It is partly covered by a tented walkway, in a triangle shape so easy to walk round, the car park is in the centre of the triangle.

The shops vary from the usual to a couple which are better. The Ted Baket, Ralph Lauren and a couple of others are worth going to, still not cheap but there are a few bargains.

If it is raining and you live nt too far away, it is worth a go, but dont travel a long distance unless they have a praticular shop that you cant live without.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good prices but some shops are small”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

We visited the outlet on our way home from France. If you like designer clothes then this place is for you. We picked up some real bargains but not everything is 'cheap'. Our only negative would be that sole of the shops are too small and the selection of clothes wasn't great in a couple.
Overall though we would definitely visit again

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Averge experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Good shopping and a great little play area for kids. So glad there are a pizza express now - the food court is pretty terrible.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
60 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
270 helpful votes 270 helpful votes
“Good prices, shops are too small”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

As title.

Prices are cheaper than rival shopping centres, but as is always the way with this type of place, the amount of stock the store holds is far less, meaning you're not always going to get the sizes you're after.

The stores themselves are all quite small.

The walkway is undercover, but only protects you from overhead, you're still subject to wind and cold temperatures during the winter.

You'll need no more than 2 hours to completely shop the place. The food court is ok and has a fair amount of choice.

This isn't a replacement of a big shopping centre like Bluewater, but can supplement it if you're after some bargains and know that Ashford Outlet Centre has the stores your after. It would be nice to see some more big name stores in the area.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ashford Designer Outlet also viewed

 

Been to Ashford Designer Outlet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashford Designer Outlet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.