We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Orchid - Banbury

Thai Orchid - Banbury
56 Northbar Street, Banbury OX16 0TL, England
+44 (0)1295 270 833
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 156 Restaurants in Banbury
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $59 - $59
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Banbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Always a treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Never fails to impress. The staff cannot do enough for you. They are always welcoming. The atmosphere is relaxed. The food is always top quality. Can't wait to go back.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    67
    28
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Mothers Day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The selection of food was amazing, very authentic, nice atmosphere, good price, friendly staff. We would definitely visit the Thai Orchid again

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daventry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Always delivers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We visit the Thai Orchid quite regularly and always really enjoy it. The starters are amazing and the mains are delicious too. I would rate this as Excellent but for the desserts, which are ok but never as good as the preceeding courses.

I love the decor, with carved wood and plants everywhere. The atmosphere is great and the service is excellent too.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice starters, not so nice mains, bad value deserts!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We ate at this restaurant tonight, our bill came to £65 and we felt disappointed at this as we didn't really enjoy our meal. The starters were yummy but the main for a vegetarian smelt of fish which was really off putting. I ended up just eating the rice... I decided to have a pudding as I was disappointed with the main and I ordered strawberries with cream which were really hard and not ripe at all. I most probably would not go again to eat here. My partner had fancied thai food and I looked on trip advisor and suggested we tried somewhere else but typical bloke got his own way lol, as he realised though I am always right! Haha.

If you do come here just be aware that you don't really get your money's worth.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Love Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I have been going to the Thai Orchid for the last 17 years. In fact the first meal I ever had there was in this restaurant. I've always been very fond of the food they serve there. I mainly go on the Sunday as there is a greater range of dishes on offer. I highly recommend it, it is a brilliant place. They never fail to impress.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Orchid - Banbury also viewed

Banbury, Oxfordshire
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 
Banbury, Oxfordshire
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Thai Orchid - Banbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Orchid - Banbury, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.