We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cromwell Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cromwell Lodge to your Saves list
Cromwell Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9-11 North Bar Street, Banbury OX16 0TB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Banbury
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Met up here for a family get together. Nice relaxed atmosphere, staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Food was great and good value too. Would recommend for an informal meal. Didn't stay overnight so can't comment on the accommodation but appears to be on a par with other Old English Inns

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
"Thank you for your great comments. We are extremely happy that you enjoyed your festive meal with us, and look forward to welcoming you to the Cromwell Lodge again in the near future."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    108
    66
    39
    27
See reviews for
48
169
5
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Northallerton
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Stayed here recently whilst on business - room was okay and clean but nothing exceptional - breakfast was okay but nothing more.

Biggest complaint was the fact that both on the evening when I checked in and the following morning the shower was cold - not luke warm or tepid - but cold - not a great start to a day!

In addition traffic noise woke me up at the crack of dawn and I am not generally a light sleeper

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your views. We are sorry that you were not entirely happy with your stay, your comments are invaluable to us in order to ensure we maintain the positive aspects of our guests experience, and strive to improve in areas that we may have fallen short. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you to The Cromwell Lodge again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llandrindod
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

On arriving we were told of a disco being held that night. Our room was right next door , we were moved to a room upstairs but now we were opposite the entrance to the disco. Our quiet weekend away was not. the disco finished after 11.30 pm. If only we had been made aware before we would have changed our dates. The staff we pleasant but our breakfast always arrive almost cold.We have stopped at many Old Englih Inns but this is the worst so far, we hope our stay at the Cedars will be much better next month.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We apologise for you not being informed prior to your visit of the Function and disco. We endeavour to locate guests who are not connected with such events as far away as we can, but this was not possible at the time of your visit with us. We value such comments, and will use this feedback to ensure that instances such as this are not repeated. We do hope that you may consider staying with us in the future, and we can restore your faith in us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

GOOD STAFF-very poor rooms-shower in bathroon had only one height.Room door hard to close.QUERY FIRE RISK-SHOULD CLOSE TIGHT.
Generally tatty and dated room 3
.Evening meal-steaks OK but peas like bullets.
All odd furniture in dining room and shabby.
Come on Old English Inns-you have a great property-SPEND SOME MONEY ON IT..
Paid for upgrade on room-bed OK but again furniture and decor awful. Ceiling marked badly.
Breakfast OK but poor scrambled egg.
Location good.

Room Tip: no knowledge other than room 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
We are sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your recent stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We are currently working through the hotel to repair and improve such maintenance issues, whilst trying to cause minimal disruption to our guests. Your feedback is invaluable to us, as we strive to ensure that such issues are not repeated in the future. We do hope that you may visit us again in the future, and that we can restore your faith in us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We had my sons wedding reception here, for the price we paid everything was very good, you could choose how you wanted to decorate the area, the food was good, served quickly hot and tasty, a good selection which was preordered, with wine included and a disco, the only down side was the settings on the top table were a little tight and the parking was limited, this was due to the Annual fair being on and reducing the spaces on the North Bar, at any other time this would not happen.

Room Tip: The rooms are thought to be haunted
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We are very happy that you enjoyed your important day with us, and hope to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thatcham
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights recently visiting family and attending a fund raising event. From the moment we arrived on Friday afternoon until we left on Sunday morning our stay was made very nice. Bruce and his team are a credit to the group, all the staff are friendly and helpful.
The food is very good, we had an early evening meal on the Friday which was excellent, we both had fish and chips, the fish was really nice and neither greasy. We regards to the drinks they are very reasonable priced and the wine priced very good compared to most hotels.
Our room was very nice, lovely shower and big fluffy towels.
I would like to mention B who always seemed to be there from early morning to early evening and again a thank you to Bruce. Ian and Alma Marsden

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sthelens
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Just been to a wedding at this pub and it was one of the best iv been too.The food was excellent it was cheap and the staff couldnt do enough for you.They were very busy but they always had time to talk,they didnt flinch when 3 xtra people showed up they just got xtra chairs.The room had a iron and a iron board and hairdryier. Drink were a good price too.Every member of staff were A+

Room Tip: The rooms on the front are good for noseying :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your great comments see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cromwell Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cromwell Lodge

Address: 9-11 North Bar Street, Banbury OX16 0TB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Banbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cromwell Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Cromwell Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cromwell Hotel Banbury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cromwell Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.