We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cromwell Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cromwell Lodge to your Saves list
Cromwell Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9-11 North Bar Street, Banbury OX16 0TB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Banbury
Burton-upon-Trent, null, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely little hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

My room was on the top floor (and there are quite a few stairs!) but it was nice, quiet, clean, and had biscuits as well as tea / coffee / shampoo / hairdryer / TV. The biscuits always begin to sell a hotel to me!

Sleep was good quality, bed was firm but not hard and the shower was large enough.

The bar sold some GOOD beer, the staff were lovely and the food was plenty good and reasonably priced. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you don't like walking, don't ask for a top floor room. Also some ground floor rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback, We look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    100
    56
    35
    25
See reviews for
43
153
5
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, England
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Im not sure where to start. when we arrived we were taken to a room. On walking in I was immediately struck by the obnoxious smell followed by being struck by the mildew on the net curtain and the gap under the door which opened out on to the garden. After complaining we were shown to another room upstairs which had wallpaper hanging off the wall, the door hanging off the wardrobe and a hole in the net curtain. We decided to stay here as we had no where else to stay. Fortunately the bedding was clean and fresh and the bathroom and room cleaned well. Breakfast was good but by the time we ate it we were just keen to get out of the place. We will not be returning or recommending it but at least they made the gesture and took £20 off the bill because they were embarrassed.

Room Tip: don't take 25 or 17
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Sorry we did not meet your expectations especially when you were moved from your original choice. Hope you return so we can make you feel welcome and comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

What can i say, friendly staff, very clean and great food and valve for money. Could do with a handy man for small bits of maintenance in the rooms but apart from that will definitely be going back. Beautiful gardens at the back and great location we loved Banbury.

Room Tip: Room 17 very nice double room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for your great comments hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

First lets start with the positives. The rooms are very good, with really comfortable beds and everything you might need - except an electric fan. Ironing board, digital tv, tea and coffee, and free wifi are all provided.

Food served in the bar and restaurant was pretty decent; and very reasonably priced.

However, whilst I'd love to give this hotel 4 or 5 stars, I can't - in the 2 nights I stayed there I slept for maybe 2 hours if I'm lucky.

The problem? First, I booked on hotels.com on the basis that the room had "climate control". I can only assume that they mean "open the window" because there was no climate control and no electric fan. The room was unbearably hot, so on the first night I had to leave the windows wide open to try and get some air in. On the second night, I couldn't do this due to noise from guests in the beer garden until 3am. Even a polite "please shut up" didn't stop their incessant racket.

Additionally, the plumbing in the hotel is so loud - when anybody in neighbouring rooms uses a toilet or tap, the white noise produced is ridiculously loud. It has to be heard to be believed.

I'm disappointed because the hotel really is lovely - the staff are very pleasant, check in and check out was painless and rooms are of a good standard. But sleeping on a hot night proved to be impossible.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
sorry to hear your comments please do return and hopefully we can rectify these problems.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset uk
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Oh dear! To start on a positive I LOVED the bed and bedding and slept very well.
Check in was a bit perplexing as we had thought we had pre-paid but the Receptionist thought we hadn't...
The room was Ok, I thought but my husband thought it was a bit damp and it was a bit shabby.
In the morning, things went a bit 'down-hill' as we waited 20 minutes for a pot of tea, for breakfast and 40 minutes for our cooked breakfast. My bacon tasted a bit odd at one end of one 'rasher' and the scrambled egg was very dry and my baked beans were congealed, but we were a bit 'beyond caring' by then. The pot of tea was nice; we ordered another one, as we had finished the first one by the time the cooked breakfast was served.
Check out was time-consuming.
I had a print-out of my booking and could confirm that we HAD prepaid but I had to wait in the queue to hand in our key, which was a bit annoying. I did get an apology from the receptionist.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
I am sorry you were not 100 percent happy with your stay. Thank you for your comments and we will endeavour to rectify the points raised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thetford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

This hotel is amazingly clean and has great character which is always valued, however what makes this place truly special is the staff and by staff I mean the waiting, cleaning, reception, bar and management. Every single member seems so happy and positive all the time. They are so friendly and always speak. I stayed here for 5 nights with my elderly Mum and nothing was too much trouble. The detail the staff remembered about us so quicly like name, wine preference and that we played dominos in the evenings was amazing and made us feel valued and special. By the time we left they felt like friends and they made our holiday really special.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Its great to give our staff such a well earned boost.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The overnight stay we had at the Cromwell Lodge in Banbury was made all the more enjoyable by the efforts & friendliness shown by ALL of the staff.
The "bubbly" personality of the front of house (European) lady was infectious & should be bottled.
You cannot put a value on that level of attentiveness.
We were also very impressed with the help offered by Chloe the receptionist.
The £10 3 course menu was very good value for money.
The atmosphere in the bar was comfortable & friendly.
Bruce (the Manager) whom we never met should be very proud of his staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Many thanks it is alwayes nice to get such great feed back hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cromwell Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cromwell Lodge

Address: 9-11 North Bar Street, Banbury OX16 0TB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Banbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cromwell Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Cromwell Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cromwell Hotel Banbury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cromwell Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.