We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cromwell Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cromwell Lodge to your Saves list
Cromwell Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9-11 North Bar Street, Banbury OX16 0TB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Banbury
Banbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

My family and I have been to this restaurant many times for christmas dinner evening meals and today sunday dinner.The service has always been very good and food excellent at a good price. I would say one of the best places to eat in banbury

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    108
    66
    39
    27
See reviews for
49
169
5
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Evesham
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Paid £90 a night for a superior room and was extremely disappointed. The stay did not start well as there were no signs to indicate where parking was. When we were directed round the back it was extremely run down. Reception dark and we were greeted by someone who doesn't normally work there and was wearing a parka!! Unsure how they decided it was a superior room - on a slope, very dated furniture and decor, no heater in bathroom so that was always cold and a dim light. The shower head dripped constantly and when we removed it the whole system buzzed. The tiles round the bath were stained and we were provided with only one small bottle of shampoo and one hand towel. The mattress was clearly past its best. Breakfast was ok but the service was very hit and miss. Damaged walls on the stairs, bar area felt like a wetherspoons. The manager had not been there that long and was clearly working a lot of hours and was exhausted. He has his work cut out. Won't be booking again - the website certainly does not reflect the state of the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

What a shambles from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. All staff are temporary (the last lot having been sacked apparently) and we got fed up of being told that "we've only been here a week and don't know where everything is".

Bar ran out of beer, coffee machine closed down for cleaning at 9-30pm, when bar full of customers who had just eaten. Sat for nearly 30 minutes before someone took our order for breakfast. Tables were not cleared so we had to eat at filthy tables with the previous customers plates piled up alongside. The room we were allocated was smelly, the bathroom mouldy and we managed to get about 2 hours sleep because of the noise.

We couldn't even find anyone to complain to! There was never anyone at reception or on bar duty - the place deserves to close.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thanks for your feedback, we have already remedied the points you raise. Please do try us again so we can show you how good we can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We originally booked through an offer of £99 for 2 nights in September and then needed to change it to Saturday and Sunday which they did without any problem.
We checked in and went up to our room which was at the front of the hotel. After a great day in Banbury we returned and after a cuppa retired to bed. I like a dark room but the one we were in had a small window let in above the door - 4" high and as long as the door which let LOADS of light in from the fitting outside the door. I went to reception and asked if they had another room we could swap to as I wasn't able to sleep and the hotel was fully booked. There was one room though that was marked 'out of service' on the system so the young man on reception went to check it out. He came back 5 minutes later and said it was fine and we could move into that one instead - he'd left a light on and switched the radiator on too. We moved and it was 100% better. Not their fault, rather a crappy door design.
The hotel has very recently changed hands and the new staff are being confronted with niggles every hour of every day. Apparently the previous management didn't deal with issues and so wereremoved - the staff there at the moment have been drafted in from different hotels to help get the hotel back on its feet.
The restaurant was fully booked on Saturday and Sunday and the bar was busy too. There is a car park at the rear of the building but if you get there and it's full there are two others (pay and display) nearby until you can move your car into it.
Once sorted this place will be a credit to Banbury, and the staff that brought it back out of its decline.

Room Tip: Room 17 is at the very back of the hotel and quite dark - room 6 has the funny little door window an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for your very kind feedback, we are really pleased to hear all of your comments & will pass this onto our team. We look forward to seeing you back at the Cromwell soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

reception not great, after waiting 5 mins from ringing the bell had to go to the bar and ask to check in.
room a bit quirky but ok, until I realised there was a missing - yes missing - window pane. clearly this had been the case for some time as there was a piece of cardboard 'stuck' to the window with packing tape except it had been there long enough for the tape to become unstuck. on a very chilly winter night the only option was to block the gap with one of the spare pillows. also there seemed to be a large hole underneath the carpet which you sank in to everytime you went to the bathroom. Mentioned the missing window pane when checking out and the temporary manager said that the previous manager had left suddenly a week ago and they hadnt had a chance to check all rooms - cant understand how in a hotel this small they would not be able to get around all rooms in a week??? also unable to do full checkout as 'systems were down' but temp manager took my email details and promised to email account to me later that day - no email received 5 days later. having read another review I am now concerned that I will be charged for something I didnt spend, and only my credit card statement will confirm. I actually tried to cancel this hotel 12 hours before checking in and was told I would be charged full cancellation - if I had known my allocated room was missing a window pane I would never have checked in and would have refused cancellation fees

Room Tip: not the one with the broken window pane - cant remember but may have been 15
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, the window concerned has been fixed & given the age of our building these things are subject to listed building challenges which I am sure you can appreciate. We do hope that you will try us again & give us the opportunity to show how good we can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwytherin, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed over for one night on our way back from London to North Wales. We were made very welcome when we arrived, our room was clean with nice fresh bed linen. The room was very warm but the bathroom had no heating which was quite cool. We ordered our evening meal which I was really looking forward too, I chose chili chicken from the special board, I thought the chicken was tough I left quite a bit of it, I mentioned it to Gabriela the owner and she just brushed it aside. My husband also ordered a news paper to be delivered to the room next morning but didn't arrive. When we arrived home and I looked at the bill I noticed they had charged us for it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for your recent feedback regarding The Cromwell Hotel. We value all feedback whether good or bad to improve our service offered to our guests. Please be assured that we took your comments on board so that other customers do not have a same experience & issues regarding the quality of food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Only popped in to have a look at prospective places to stay and eat in Banbury.
Had a lovely couple of hours sitting in front of the roaring fire supping beers.
Cant comment on the food or accommodation but the bar areas were nice and the food being served looked good.
Certainly worth a visit and on this very snowy and cold day it was no wonder that they were busy as opposed to the other nearby hotels and pubs who had not lit their fires.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cromwell Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cromwell Lodge

Address: 9-11 North Bar Street, Banbury OX16 0TB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Banbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cromwell Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Cromwell Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cromwell Hotel Banbury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cromwell Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.