We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fab night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Purple Mango

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Purple Mango
Hanwell Mews | Rotary Way, Banbury, England
(0) 1295 276 900
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 147 restaurants in Banbury
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Daventry, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“fab night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Had a fantastic night, the food was excellent and service was great. Came on recommendation and will be recommending to others.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    17
    7
    2
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Banbury
1 review
“Great night out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Excellent food served in a relaxed manner .New items on menu were a pleasant addition to the extensive menu.Restaurant is clean well laid out.Would have preferred more Indian based music- no big deal

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Greasy, stodgy and unrefined.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend decided to try this place for the first time after hearing good things. We ordered takeaway to collect early at around 6-630pm. The food was quickly prepared within 15mins which was surprising! On collection the the 10% discount was honoured and everything looked ok!

However, once unpacking and dishing up there was a stale grease smell not akin to a garage workshop coming from the bag. The onion bhajis had soaked through the bags they were in and my girlfriends curry had a strong underlying taste of stale grease, stronger than the flavours of the curry itself! The whole meal left us both feeling really unwell. I would certainly NOT recommends takeaway from this place and will not be returning!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“One of the best curries I have ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Been here a couple of times now. Had the shish kebab to start. I can honestly say, they are the best best shish kebabs I have ever had. Big and chunky, lots of fresh spices in them, if you go there and have them, you will see what I mean, they are simply the best.

The curries are really nice. If it is not on the menu, the chef will cook it up for you, which is no bother at all. On our second visit, my curry was a little on the salty side, which was changed immediately and I was not charged for it.

All in all, an Indian meal fit for a king, but without paying 'king' prices.


100% recommend a visit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Never heard of customer service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

ful service. Having ordered the wrong dish, I phoned and asked if I could order another one explaining what had happened. The gentleman on the phone refused as they stopped serving 2 minutes ago and the chef had left. What a joke. Food is average, too sweet for my taste. Will not be using again

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Purple Mango also viewed

 
Banbury, Oxfordshire
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Purple Mango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Purple Mango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.