We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely friendly atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Three Conies

The Three Conies
Banbury Lane | Thorpe Mandeville, Banbury OX17 2EX, England
01295 711025
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 156 Restaurants in Banbury
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Lincoln, New Hampshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely friendly atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Good pub grub at a reasonable cost.

Home made chips and lovely bread (none of the thinly sliced supermarket rubbish). Family and dog friendly.

Great welcome from owner and the 2 staff.

Will definitely visit again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    18
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Butterleigh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Proper Local Pub/Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We ate here twice in a week recently, whilst staying locally.
Richard (the Landlord) has a skill rarely seen in pubs these days. We were made to feel immediately welcome but were not smothered!
The locals were also lovely and my partner and I were not short of conversation.
The menu was interesting, with an omelette section and burger section.On the first occasion I had the black pudding and onion omelette which was perfect pub grub and on the second occasion I had the Angus burger which I thought was overcooked but head chef was on holiday and it was busy Friday night, There were plenty of other choice's on the menu and the specials board and I'd come back to try the mussels which everyone seemed to be raving about.
We hope to stay locally again if for no other reason than to visit this gem of a pub!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Home from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

This must be one of the most welcoming pubs that I have visited in a long while The food was excellent (Hobbity pie was superb), the landlord and staff were very friendly and knowledgeable about local area as well as being attentive to our needs. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Fan Dabby Dozey!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

We called in last Friday to this public house and received a very warm welcome, it was very busy the car park was full, we had to park on the road.

The menu offered was very good with great choices. We ordered the Angus burgers they were fabulous and the home made chips to die for! My husband loves Hook Norton ales and he was very pleased with the Lion and Old Hooky which were in superb form.

Mustn't forget to mention the lovely ladies behind the bar who were excellent too. If you haven't been to this pub yet.. you need to go!

Thank you so much.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ypu must go to this pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

This pub has everything, delicious food, locals, real ale and a fantastic atmosphere. You must visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Three Conies also viewed

Banbury, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Three Conies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Three Conies, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.