We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, unpretentious pub with good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Three Conies

The Three Conies
Banbury Lane | Thorpe Mandeville, Banbury OX17 2EX, England
01295 711025
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 156 Restaurants in Banbury
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Cranfield, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very nice, unpretentious pub with good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

My wife and I ate here after a longish walk in the area. Service was a bit slow to start with, but a really nice pint of Old Hooky helped to mitigate the delay! Food was very good, without being outstanding. Pub was a bit noisy - one horrible screaming kid that made my skull rattle - but it's very well presented and a very nice setting. Very olde Englishe - low beams and a great range of beers.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    18
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Banbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice food... eventually.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is a typical country pub. No flash decor, but full of basic country charm. It doesn't have a huge restaurant area, so would recommend booking a table in advance if you want to eat.
Four of us went for food one Sunday evening. Our table was ready and waiting so we immediately got drinks and sat down.
We were then handed menus and given a run down of the items on the menu that weren't available that evening. I felt this restricted an already limited choice.
The staff gave us a little too much time to decide what we wanted, before coming to take our order but the service was friendly enough.
However, we then had to wait around 45 mins for our food to arrive. The pub didn't seem overly busy and we didn't receive any explanation for the delay.
The food was nice when it arrived... eventually. We didn't have enough time to order dessert!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThreeConies, Owner at The Three Conies, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for your review...we have only just started opening Sunday evenings and recognise that there are areas we need to improve...we genuinely value your comments...thank you very much...Richard & Becky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Loved the staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Last minute visit with a friend. The people were lovely and kind. We were looked after and introduced to some locals. Absolutely loved it and will be attending the garden party in July!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

called in without booking on Friday evening, staff friendly and they did manage to find us a table, excellent service and food very good, well worth a visit but as it's a little busy would advise booking

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Awful meal in alovely pub!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Ias part of a pre booked coach party, We were given a limited menu of 2 soups, a salad or a main course. I chose tomato and pepper soup. It was absolutely disgusting. A tiny portion of watery, packet soup, with a small slice of dry white bread! All of us that had soup felt the same, but we did not complain until the end. No apology,bar staff said they ' would tell the chef' We were offered a cup of instant coffee! It really was the worst soup I have ever had, and I was robbed of £4.50 for it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Three Conies also viewed

Banbury, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Three Conies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Three Conies, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.