We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All under one roof” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bread & Milk Deli

Bread & Milk Deli
15 Chuch Street | Bloxham, Banbury, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 154 Restaurants in Banbury
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Restaurant details
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“All under one roof”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Walk in to this gem to find an array of delights for the taste buds. Apart from the food on offer they have a great range of gifts upstairs, perfect for you or to give to friends. It is always a delight to go in here.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    2
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Bread and Milk have got it right!. Lovely deli with a huge variety of food ...great cheeses and a multitude of other goodies. Another area is dedicated to gifts...again , great quality and variety. Last, but not least ,is the Cafe...small, but lovely drinks , cakes , light lunches etc etc. Donna and Paul have the art of running a great establishment with enthusiasm and charm :-) OH..and a big plus point for me ...no plastic shopping bags!...nice paper carriers ...HURRAH!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This is such a gorgeously tantalising shop. It would be so easy to heap up the shopping bag and spend a fortune. The fantastic variety of cheeses beg to be tasted (and you can have little samples). I bought a yummy pate on my last visit. The staff are very helfpful and obviously passionate about their products. Do visit if you get the chance.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“4 years on... as great as ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I used to work a short walk from this deli, and it was a regular source of some amazing lunching food. After a few years working away from the area, I was driving through Bloxham today and just had to take the opportunity to stop and pick something up. The manager still remembered my face after 4 years!

They are probably busier than ever, but it was great to see nothing had been compromised with the personal touch and great services. Each sandwich is made fresh to order, including the slicing of the meat. They have such a great selection of ingredients. I had a beef ciabatta with horseradish, salad and a red onion marmalade (see photo). Food was as amazing as ever. I was also tempted by a slice of quiche... wow - easily the best piece of quiche I've had in a long time. So fresh, and the flavours were delicious (see other photo).

I cannot recommend this place enough - so friendly, lots of quality food on offer as well as just deli fare. One slightly downside - unfortunately, the price of fame is that at lunch times there might be a bit of a wait if there are a couple of sandwiches to be made in front of you - but I think you can phone ahead if you know what you want, and it is worth every second of a wait.

To cap it all - very reasonably priced too - similar if not less expensive than a high-end supermarket sandwich, but 100 times better tasting! If you want a great deli lunch, you won't find better in the surrounding area. I wish they had a store in Banbury town centre!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Cute spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

The food is good at this little country hole in the wall... whether staying in or taking away. Its an ideal deli/lunch spot. The only criticism is there are limited tables (though a bigger property and more tables and this place may lose its appeal anyway - catch 22), but also the coffee isnt as good as the food or the surroundings.

Dont forget to check out the gift shop, full of locally produced items.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bread & Milk Deli also viewed

Banbury, Oxfordshire
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Bread & Milk Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bread & Milk Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.