We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Dining” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Saye and Sele Arms

The Saye and Sele Arms
Main Road | Broughton, Banbury, England
01295-26-33-48
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 154 Restaurants in Banbury
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: I want to write a review but your procedure is messing me about and putting me off.
Mawsley
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

We liked everything - the food (superb), service (courteous and friendly), surroundings (lovely).
We had lunch here with friends prior to visiting the nearby Broughton Castle. If you are looking to have a really enjoyable day out visit both!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    13
    8
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We chose this pub more or less at random from the AA website. We were very happy with our .choice and had an excellent meal. The menu offered a good choice and the food was good. The place was busy and is obviously popular (deservedly so)

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence Island
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A fantastic little taste of England in every way!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We were thrilled by the entire experience of this excellent bit of England! After a long day of touring (my husband drove) this was the last stop for dinner before booking it back to London. The food was simply superb - I had the lamb noisettes and my hubby had the ribeye - as was the service. Do ask that your food be salted at the time you order since there seems to be a movement afoot in the pubs to remove salt from the English diet :). It was all simply lovely! I felt like I had stepped back in time!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“It is the little things.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

I would have been kinder to this charming little pub with friendly front of house service and an efficient waitress. But, they served a Ploughmans platter with three slices of crusty bread that I would have deemed suitable for the bin and with a strange, surreal, squirted heap of what tasted like margarine on top of one slice. A cursory spoon of mass produced chutney and some dried apricots were also sadly lacking in spark. Please, pubs that are surrounded by an abundance of local produce...why are you using cheap, rubbish ingredients? Disappointing.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Exceptional Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

An exceptional day, (again) at the Saye & Sele Arms - if you have not visited yet put it on your things you must do this year - exquisite food, spectacular service, a very warm welcome, (always), a beautiful setting - all round a great experience! With Jodie Danielle Palmer, Lynette Riley, Lucy Magee, Lucy Atkinson, Terry Atkinson, Derek Riley, Nicholas Blanchard

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Saye and Sele Arms also viewed

Banbury, Oxfordshire
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Saye and Sele Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Saye and Sele Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.