We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very well presented good food and hospitality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Dun Cow

The Dun Cow
West End | Hornton, Banbury, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 154 Restaurants in Banbury
Price range: $10 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A traditional Village Pub & Kitchen in the heart of the village of Hornton, North Oxfordshire. Comfortable, relaxed, welcoming and informal, we offer a range of cask ales, lagers, ciders and a carefully chosen wine list, most of which are available by the glass.Been walking or gardening all morning? Just leave your boots by the door and warm your feet by the fire. What about the kids? We think that they should be welcomed, not just tolerated.Just want a quiet drink, not a three course meal? Well, that’s fine by us but we do also serve unique and outstanding food. We buy superb ingredients directly from farmers & producers (mostly within a 30 mile radius of the pub) and we cook them in a way that lets their freshness and quality shine through. We’re also serious about seasonality and our menus are completely changed every month to reflect all that is freshest and at its best right now.
Hertfordshire UK
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Very well presented good food and hospitality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We went to the Dun Cow with some friends for Saturday night dinner when we were staying at a cottage on the Upton House Estate. I booked a table on the basis of the good reviews on Tripadvisor and the proximity to where we were staying. We all had a lovely meal including starter, main course and dessert.The landlord was very friendly and the dishes were all well presented and tasty. The atmosphere and surroundings in the pub were cosy and welcoming and we all enjoyed the meal. I would definitely visit the pub again if we return to the area.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    8
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Banbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Quirky deliciousness”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Have now become repeat diners in this traditional, quirky village pub (in the best meaning of the words) - both times for a burger based lunch. So different from standard pub fare everything seems to have been made from scratch and is delicious - both the meat and veggie burger options were top class (the mushroom based veggie burger was probably the best veggie burger I've eaten). Blue cheese sauce was oozing with blue cheese (sounds obvious but so rarely the case), chips crisp and perfectly cooked, salads fresh and enticing. And if you get the chance to try the home pickled cabbage or the Asian style slaw make sure you do - outstanding. To drink Ales and the wine list were both very drinkable, and they even serve a drinkable (possibly even tasty) non alcoholic beer... Landlords very welcoming and engaging. Service admittedly not express, but as said food is worth waiting for. Atmosphere quirky - which is mostly good. Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect village pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The Dun Cow is the perfect village pub in every sense. The building is full of character, and the landlady and landlord were very welcoming and accommodating. The drinks selection was well chosen on all fronts, with a small but perfectly formed array of local ales and plenty of interesting non-alcoholic choices for those behind the wheel. We went in for lunch, and were presented with a simple, wholesome menu of fresh and local food. Everything was cooked from scratch, and even the chips looked fresh enough to remember their time as whole potatoes. The dinner menu looks far more sophisticated, and if lunch is anything to go by would be an absolute treat.

The puddings deserve their own paragraph. Between our table of four we tried the peaches poached in white wine, the pain perdu (melt-in-the-mouth brioche soaked in sherry, then fried in clarified butter, served with fresh raspberries), and the double stout ice cream. All were divine.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not microwaved”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Just had a totally freshly homemade beefburger with fresh salad, absolutely beautiful.
The evening meals are also totally freshly made from scratch.
You will have a short wait while it is cooked, rather than the usual microved pub food.
Totally recommended
http://www.theduncowhornton.co.uk/about-the-dun-cow-hornton/

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Much improved”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Following on from a previous visit and review I've been meaning to pop back to see if the service at this place has improved. An impromtu catch up with friends near Hornton led to us trying The Dun Cow but unfortunately they no longer serve food on a Sunday evening. However, everyone was very friendly and suggested some other places to try.

So the service was mush improved but we still haven't got to try the food yet (our own fault). We will return to check it out.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dun Cow also viewed

Banbury, Oxfordshire
 
Banbury, Oxfordshire
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Dun Cow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dun Cow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.