We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17-19 Horse Fair, Banbury Cross, Banbury OX16 0AN, England (Formerly Mercure Whately Hall Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 40% OFF THIS WINTER
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Banbury
york, uk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Charming hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2007

Booked off the street after we left a disastrous hotel in Kenilworth.
Quiet spacious twin overlooking the well-cared for garden. Excellent breakfast. Charming staff.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    207
    117
    57
    26
See reviews for
57
262
32
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2007

Jon Plymouth UK.
Stayed in this hotel 240407. Good location and Hotel nice enough but for the money never worth it.
Rood very hot including when the window was open. No sound proofing so lots of traffic noise especially first thing in the morning.
Probably (and honestly) the worst breakfast I have ever had whilst away. Service very slow and took 25 mins before a luke warm and pre cooked full English arrived. By then the toast which had been delivered 10 mins before had gone cold. My colleague had items on his plate that I didnt have! No napkins or sugar bowl on the table and two waitresses neither of whom will die of a heart attack by over work.
Reception claimed kitchen was under staffed.
Wouldnt stay again

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2006

I stayed 3 nights in August. Room was good size, with separate living room, and teh public areas of the hotel were very pleasant. My problems with the hotel are as follows:

- be warned: if you have a room at the front of the hotel it can get very noisy at night with drunken teens as the hotel is right on the main road.

- they add a surcharge if you pay by credit card, but don't tell you this beforehand (and they tried to overcharge me by £15/night!)

- breakfast was shambolic each morning; random food ordering, surly waiters and not-very-impressive cooked breakfast. No-one seemed to be in charge.

Having said that, the receptionist was very helpful and friendly.

There are better (and cheeper) hotels in the area.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2006

convenient location and a nice building. however it is a bit dusty (not dirty but dusty) and the food and general service leave quite a lot to be desired.

Stayed July 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2006

We took a driving tour of Gt. Britain in June 2005 but are just now getting around to responding. We stayed at Whateley Hall for one night while driving through the Cotswolds during an unexpected heat wave. Since the rooms are not air conditioned we were pleased to find that our small but comforable room had 'opening windows'. There was a lovely garden courtyard outside the restaurant where we relaxed over an afternoon tea after checking in. The staff were courteous, professional and helpful, and the food was wonderful, in other words, everything a person expects from a Macdonal Hotel! The olde-worldy atmosphere of this hotel enhanced our visit greatly!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2006

No complaints. There is a nice garden replete with squirrels in the centre of the property. The older parts have some charm about them. Staff were friendly. There is a non smoking floor and smoking is not allowed in the restaurant - a nice departure from many an establishment in England.

The Thai restaurant almost directly opposite the hotel was terrific.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2006

My husband and I have stayed at the Whately Hall several times now, and have always found it to be a lovely hotel. The service has always been very good, and the food excellent. We have often received a room upgrade, at no extra cost. As a regular traveller, the comfiest bed I ever slept in was here! We have been to many Macdonald hotels, and this one is a particular favourite. It is in a wonderful location, right on Banbury Cross, and is a great spot for access to Oxford and the Cotswolds. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel, and we're off there again next weekend!

  • Stayed June 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel

Address: 17-19 Horse Fair, Banbury Cross, Banbury OX16 0AN, England (Formerly Mercure Whately Hall Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Banbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 star hotel offering 69 ensuite rooms in an idyllic 17th Century setting where Jonathan Swift wrote Gulliver's Travels in 1723. Ideal as a base for exploring the Cotswolds region, Stratford Upon Avon, Oxford, Woodstcock & Warwick. 10 minutes from Banbury railway and coach stations, 30 miles (50 km)from Birmingham Airport and easily accessible via Junction 11 of the M40. Features 7 meeting rooms accommodating up to 120 delegates, Swifts & Berkeley Restaurants and Hornton Bar. 24hrs room service and free car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Whately Hall Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.