We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, but not fantastic either” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17-19 Horse Fair, Banbury Cross, Banbury OX16 0AN, England (Formerly Mercure Whately Hall Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 40% OFF THIS WINTER
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Banbury
Caerleon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Not bad, but not fantastic either”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed during a business trip. Was comfortable enough but the room did feel a little claustrophobic. Toiletries were decent but the bathroom was painfully small, using the loo if you are of the tall persuasion would pretty much be impossible.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhatleyHall, Front Office Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all i would like to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel.

I would like to apologise that our hotel did not meet your expectations that you would usually expect from a hotel, being a 17th century building we do have very different styles, shapes and sizes of bedrooms. Im sure if you spoke to the Front Office Team they would of gladly assisted in seeing if their was a room more spacious to your liking available.

I hope this stay hasnt put you off staying in the Whately Hall Hotel,

Thank youonce again,

Kind Regards
Hayley Smith
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    207
    117
    57
    26
See reviews for
56
261
32
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Daventry, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I attended a Christmas Dinner for Hartwell and retirement for myself at
the Whatley Hall Hotel in Banbury. I found the atmosphere on entering
the hotel very convivial and warm which was greatly appreciated. Going
into the dinning area my table was greeted and attended by a gentleman
called Youssef, throughout the evening (which went on quite late!)
Youssef looked after the whole group from Hartwell extremely well with
personal and professional attendance. I would, on behalf of all of the
staff at Hartwell who attended the dinner thank Youssef and his staff
for the undivided attention and kindness whilst we were at The Whatley
Hall. I would greatly appreciate you passing on the contents of this
review to Youssef and again thanks again for such a marvelous evening.
Dougie Roberts. (Retired!!!!!)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhatleyHall, Front Office Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent review of our hotel and i am of course very happy that Youssef and his team were helpful and freindly as per usual. I will make sure they get the recognition they need for their excellent service and smile.

Once again many thanks and look forward to welcoming you to the whately hall hotel in the future.

Kind Regards
Hayley Smith
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I came here for a work trip and the hotel location is very close to everything in the center of town, including the train station. Rooms are snug, but clean. Breakfast has shifted from a hot buffet to a plated service, which has improved the quality of the hot food. Cold food (fruit, cereal, bread, juice) is still served in the buffet and that is fine.

The hotel has a nice outdoor garden and that is lovely to come there in the summer for a drink.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhatleyHall, Front Office Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am really glad to read your posting following your stay with us at the Whatley Hall Hotel. I am glad that you have seen an improvment with breakfast and look forward to welcoming you to the hotel in the near future.

Once again many thank,

Hayley Smith
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledon, Canada
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed here Dec 1st, the reception area is very nice, and check in was quick and efficient and very friendly and detailed, we were given a great room at the front of the old hotel overlooking the town, very impressive large room, very clean and well furnished. There is plenty of parking at the rear of the hotel, very convenient. We asked at the front desk about Banbury and things to do, we were given a detailed map and lots of hints on good places to eat etc. We were also offered a breakfast special rate which was well priced but declined as we were setting off early. The hotel is in the perfect location for a night out in historic Banbury, great old pubs and restaraunts within easy walking distance. We did not eat at the hotel but the dining room looked very nice. I would highly recommend this hotel and will definately stay again if I can.

Room Tip: Main building overlooking the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am really happy to read your posting following your stay with us here at Mercure Whately Hall Hotel, Banbury. Thank you for posting the lovely phographs too. I am glad that you enjoyed your room and the view over the town, and I hope that we will be able to welcome you again should you be in the area.

Once again many thanks,

Michael Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had booked this hotel using Avios vouchers for a milestone birthday and wanted to go somewhere not too far from home but special. After booking my partner phoned the hotel to ask for a room at the rear of the hotel as some of the reviews said there were better views and it would be quieter.
The front desk staff were fantastic and could not do too much to help, especially as we managed to leave our voucher at home. When we got to our room we had been given a suite which was in the older part of the hotel. It was a little chilly but with the outside temperatures at -4 it would take some heating to cut through that especially as the older part has original windows and thick stone walls. The creaky floorboards added to the character of the room!
Breakfast was plentyful and the staff again very pleasant and attentive. Parking was only a problem due to the snow and the narrow entrance but the staff phoned the council to allow us to park out the front so very considerate to us and the other guests.
Location is great with the main shopping street less than 5 minutes away. We can't comment on the resturant as there are so many places to eat in town we went there instead.
This is the second Mercure we have stayed in which is of this style and I have to disagree with previous reviewers. I don't want to stay in a boring clone hotel so I liked the olde worlde charm of it.
A big thank you to all of the staff, especially Hayley on the front desk who really went out of her way to help.

Room Tip: Suites are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us here at Mercure Whately Hall Hotel, Banbury. I am so glad that we gave you such an enjoyable stay and it is great for the team and myself to receive such positive comments. I am very happy that we managed to arrange parking for you and that you found the charachter of the hotel to your liking.

Once again many thanks for your fabulous comments and I hope we are able to welcome you here or at one of our other hotels soon.

Kind Regards

Michael Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel

Address: 17-19 Horse Fair, Banbury Cross, Banbury OX16 0AN, England (Formerly Mercure Whately Hall Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Banbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 star hotel offering 69 ensuite rooms in an idyllic 17th Century setting where Jonathan Swift wrote Gulliver's Travels in 1723. Ideal as a base for exploring the Cotswolds region, Stratford Upon Avon, Oxford, Woodstcock & Warwick. 10 minutes from Banbury railway and coach stations, 30 miles (50 km)from Birmingham Airport and easily accessible via Junction 11 of the M40. Features 7 meeting rooms accommodating up to 120 delegates, Swifts & Berkeley Restaurants and Hornton Bar. 24hrs room service and free car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Whately Hall Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.