We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok hotel well situated for town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Banbury House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Banbury House Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Banbury House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oxford Road, Banbury OX16 9AH, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Banbury
Northamptonshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Ok hotel well situated for town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is ok for being in the town, located in the centre but with good free parking facilities and free wifi. The breakfast was good with a traditional buffet and English cooked served to order. Rooms were of a good standard and clean and staff were happy to help. Reasonable value for money too.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    145
    55
    16
    10
See reviews for
51
135
16
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Stayed here one night whilst visiting friends. Received warm welcome on arrival during the evening. Room was quite stuffy but clean and spacious enough. Walls a bit thin as we could hear the TV and voices in the room next to ours. Breakfast was of a reasonable standard although at £15 expensive, if not on a Bed and Breakfast rate. We would probably stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for the second time in twelve months and was given a room on the ground floor. (last time the room was a 3 day camel ride from reception)
This was like staying in a different hotel as the rooms were far more modern and much easier to get to, especially if you have heavy luggage.
I needed wi-fi and the connection was good and reliable.
Buffet breakfast was OK.
Only complaint was that the window would not stay open and it was stuffy during the night.
I will stay again if I can get the same room!

Room Tip: Ask for the ground floor room or travel light and carry lots of water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Stayed at the Banbury House Hotel for a family Birthday - 6 adults and 3 children. The hotel is a bit like a rabbit warren - lots of stairs - up and down and long corridors - no lifts. Rooms were clean, decor a bit jaded. It was quite hot during the weekend, there is no air-conditioning, but there was a small noisy fan available in the room. Staff were excellent throughout, food was good and reasonably priced as well as the drinks. Breakfast was first class. We would go back to this hotel again.

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 142/143 and 222, all were fine and reasonably quiet. Banbury is a lovely little t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Found the room unbearably hot, could only open the window 6 inches, found a rickety old fan in the cupboard that made more noise then improve the air flow. We had a family room as we had our children with us, we did not get a very good night sleep due to it being to hot and had very irritable tired children the next day. I would of expected a family room to be have air conditioning installed. I voiced my concerns about the poor nights sleep due to the temperature of the room to the receptionist only to be told 'yes those rooms do get hot' no apology or cause for concern, I found her very dismissive towards our poor nights sleep. I made a recommendation of fitting air conditioning in the room only to be told that was not possible, I find that very hard to believe. I booked the room in May on where full payment was made, I feel they took my money and did not care, maybe I should of not prepaid and refused to pay on check out, maybe they would have shown a bit more concern

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We have just come back from a great weekend in Banbury.
The hotel was lovely,room was very clean,a little on the small side,but as this was just a base for us it did the trick.
The room was uncomfortably hot,but there was a fan provided so they did do there best.
Breakfast was excellent and the young men who served us were very attentive and gave excellent service.
We were lucky enough to be there when there was a 1940's carnival on,brilliant!!!.
We found plenty of real ale pubs all offering excellent ales and food,check out the Raindeer it was great.
All in all good weekend.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor as it may be cooler, and the noise from the garden will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Booked two nights, Friday and Saturday, room only as we were up early to get to f1 at silverstone. I enquired how much breakfast was, £15 each !!! Wetherspoons round the corner £3.95, needless to say I wasn't paying £90 for breakfast for three of us for two nights, think it's disgusting!!
Lovely hotel, very clean, room was good size but really hot. Just on outskirts of Banbury but within walking distance of town centre. Will be back in august for moto gp.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Banbury House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Banbury House Hotel

Address: Oxford Road, Banbury OX16 9AH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Banbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Banbury House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Banbury House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Banbury Hotel
Banbury Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Banbury House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.