We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“XMAS Lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Toby Carvery

Toby Carvery
Ermont Way, Banbury, England
+44 1295 276593
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #88 of 156 Restaurants in Banbury
Price range: $9 - $18
Cuisines: British, English, Pub, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Banbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“XMAS Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Had a very enjoyable lunch on .XMAS day. We were party of three and had booked for this lunch in October. The food was very good, cooked well and hot. The service was also very good and the staff attentive. Shall probably book again next XMAS. Mrs Pargeter

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    66
    41
    31
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
uk
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Perfect lunch, greetings and the food quality was very good. Would recommend this Toby very highly. Service was quick and very polite. Food standard was hot and plentiful.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A place with All-day carvery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

All-day carvery was the best option to find near Holiday Inn at Toby Carvery Restaurant. The ambience was magnificent and the people serving were too high-quality. They ensured that we feel satisfied and gave us all the attention required.

The food was high quality, especially the Four Roast Carvery. Even the Vegetarian Choices very good, especially, Aubergine, Red Pepper, Squash and Quorn™ Lasagne.

Ending with Glorious puddings including dairy ice-cream sundaes…

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good value...maggots in food - probably not going back!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

This place normally provides fairly decent food (nothing outstanding) at a reasonable price. However, it was recently shut for two days (10-11 Aug 13) after maggots were found in the food. It was re-opened on 16 Aug after an environmental health officer gave it a clean bill of health. Even so.... it's put me right off... which is a bit of a shame. ... probably won't be going back! (Google: "Toby Carvery Banbury maggots in food")

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffe Woods, Kent
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good food - yes, good service??”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

With our excellent visit to a Toby Carvery in Bournemouth we decided on the strength of this to try Banbury's one. We visited on a sunday lunchtime so had a 45 minute wait which was not a surprise and we considered acceptable. You are given a pager for when your table is ready which is helpful as you do not have to listen out for your name in a crowded noisy area. The visit to the bar was interesting as we were told they did not have Pimms when the bottle was on display behind the barman. My Brakspear was served lukewarm. The food from the carvery was excellent and there were four empty plates. The staff did ot come near us until it was time to pay. I mentioned that the beer had been lukewarm but the waitress was not interested and suggested I speak to the barstaff. I could not be bothered to do this. We may return when we read better reveiws of the service until then there is plenty of alternatives to visit.

To summarise very good food and not so good service. If the sercice had watched the food the overall rating would have been higher.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toby Carvery also viewed

 
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Toby Carvery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toby Carvery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.