We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Carlo

San Carlo
36-37 Parson St | OX16 5NA, Banbury 0X16 5NA, England
+44 1295 703073
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 156 Restaurants in Banbury
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Enjoy sumptuous, authentic Italian cuisine for lunches and evening meals. Relax in an inviting and contemporary restaurant, looked after by our friendly and welcoming staff. Call today to make your reservation or to order your 'take away' Parties or private functions are always welcome at the San Carlo Ristorante Pizzeria. Whatever the nature of your celebration, e.g. birthday, anniversary, office party, etc, we will be able to create a special atmosphere for your guests. (Christenings can be held in the Sundays when the restaurant can be booked exclusively for your guests.)
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

My wife and I visited on a Monday evening
As you would expect the restaurant was quiet so we got a table straight away. We each had a two course meal, I had a Calzone Pizza which when it arrived at the table, the shear size of it staggered us and the occupants of the table next to us. It was not just size but the quality was wonderful as well. My wife had a pasta dish which was equally good.
For desert we had home made tiramisu which was out of this world and bettered ones we had recently on a trip to Rome.
Service was polite and considerate without being fussy.
Overall a lovely meal and would strongly recommend it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    31
    24
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
burdrop
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Go to this restaurant!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Wife and I went before cinema and this place is GOOD. Very attentive service (chef/owner) at the tables, making sure that everyone is happy. Food is excellent (Fiorentina Pizza and Spaghetti Carbonara) You can always get a feel for the REAL Italian food if you order the simple meals. At the time of dining, there were 5 other tables - all having a good time. (Other Italian Restaurant nearby was empty!) This place is definitely worth a visit. Well done and thankyou! Will be seeing you very soon!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food, great value, will be back soon.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Decided to take the family out and try San Carlos tonight. Menu variety, portion size and service very good and the Italian food and pizza was superb. The waiter and waitress couldn't do enough for us and made us feel most welcome. Well worth another visit, great value for money. Will be back soon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milcombe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Oh dear...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Haven't been to San Carlo for years. We were in Banbury and it looked quite busy so we thought why not... Big mistake...
They sat us under the air conditioning unit next to a large and rather boisterous table. It was a bit like being in the artic. They turned off the air conditioning after we mentioned it but turned it on later as the temperate threatened to get above freezing... Service was shocking, after 45 minutes we still didn't have our starters and in the end it would have been better if we didn't get them. The focaccia was some kind of flat bread and it had no salt, tasted horrible. We had a salami antipasti which was less than generous, lots of rocket, three bits of sun-dried tomatoes and a poor selection of meats. We both had penne based mains but the taste of salt overpowered everything on the plate. We waited ages to pay the bill. Needless to say we didn't leave a tip. In summary, poorly organised, poor service, poor food. Apart from that it was ok. It will be many years before we risk it again...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Average Italian meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

One of only two Italians found in Banbury . Pretty empty but one waitress run off her feat whilst owner swanned around talking to customers he knew !!! Food adequate but nothing to write home about .Steak average pizza good but expensive for what it was

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Carlo also viewed

Banbury, Oxfordshire
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 

Been to San Carlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Carlo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.