We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing.......” 2 of 5 stars
Review of San Carlo

San Carlo
35-38 Parson's St | OX16 5NA, Banbury, England
01295703073
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 147 restaurants in Banbury
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Enjoy sumptuous, authentic Italian cuisine for lunches and evening meals. Relax in an inviting and contemporary restaurant, looked after by our friendly and welcoming staff. Call today to make your reservation or to order your 'take away' Parties or private functions are always welcome at the San Carlo Ristorante Pizzeria. Whatever the nature of your celebration, e.g. birthday, anniversary, office party, etc, we will be able to create a special atmosphere for your guests. (Christenings can be held in the Sundays when the restaurant can be booked exclusively for your guests.)
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Very disappointing.......”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Looks horrible from the outside, nice enough decor inside, a very friendly chef and waiter, good value house wine, but ...... the main course food (we ordered a pasta dish and a risotto) was really poor and we were charged for it despite not eating it :-(
Therefore we would not go back.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    56
    22
    12
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Banbury, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Pizza in Banbury and lovely staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We've had takeaway from here a few times and were really impressed with how tasty the pizza was. There's a great selection! After sitting in Pizza Express without getting served for 20 minutes we left and came to San Carlo. What a good idea that was!

The staff were accommodating, attentive and friendly. We got our drinks straight away. I had pasta this time and it was very hearty and tasty. The pasta portions are gigantic though, which is great, but you'll get very full!!! :D Also had a cheese starter which was huge but ate it all because it was so tasty. Oops! They could easily serve up smaller portions without lowering the price because the quality is so good. Prices are very reasonable. For 4 of us with three courses each and drinks we paid just over £100, so only £25-£30 each.

The decor is nice and the atmosphere is really welcoming and vibrant. I'm not sure the exterior of the building does the restaurant justice because we were so pleasantly surprised by how comfortable is was inside.

It's usually quite busy so clearly other people in Banbury have worked out how good the food is too! If you've been umming and aahhing about going in, I'd recommend giving it a try and sure you would enjoy it. Also, if you usually stick to chain restaurants, you're missing out on an awesome pizza.

Thanks for a lovely evening. We'll be back and actually already have been back haha.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fabulous restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Just been for an early tea with the kids to this wonderful restaurant. The food was hot, fresh, tasty, plentiful and reasonably priced!. The staff were welcoming especially the pizza chef who invited our two children over to watch him make the pizzas. They were very impressed and talked about it all the way home. Will definately be returning soon and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
334 helpful votes 334 helpful votes
“Brilliant night at San Carlo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We had a brilliant night at San Carlo. Excellent service, chef & food. We will definitely eat there again next time we are staying in Banbury. Thanks for making our friend’s birthday so memorable.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
banbury
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We go there every Friday with work, food is always brilliant and staff are very friendly and helpful. They always come and greet us personally.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Carlo also viewed

Banbury, Oxfordshire
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 
Banbury, Oxfordshire
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 

Been to San Carlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Carlo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.