We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Indian I have ever had” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jay Pur

Jay Pur
39A Parsons Street, Banbury, England
+44 1295 275117
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 154 Restaurants in Banbury
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Banbury, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Indian I have ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

As the title says best Indian meal I have ever had. The food was a generous portion and well priced, to put the cherry on top it was also delicious.

The well presented restaurant had a great atmosphere and also service was prompt and friendly.
The choices on the menu were vast and had something for everybody.

All that needs to be said really is that myself and friends and partner had a fantastic time.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    17
    6
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Banbury
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Delicious indian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Ordered a takeaway from here having heard so many good things about it from other people. Wasnt disappointed either. Was told delivery was going to be about 45 mins but turned up alot sooner and we also received complimentary poppadoms. Food was delicious and portion size was huge.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Cracking, absolutely delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Having been for a curry the night before, I was concerned I might have curry fatigue coming to Jay Pur. I needn't have worried. This was perhaps the best Indian meal I've had outside of India. The sheet kebab starter was well thought out, not just a couple of pieces of meat, the chicken balti was full of flavour and as another reviewer said, the naan bread were like duvets. Delicious duvets.

Nice touches including orange segments to refresh the mouth before a nice fiery whisky means this fully deserves a 5/5.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Food with Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Great Food that is value for money. Visited with friends and was not disappointed. Highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Naga Chicken - yippee!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

If you like your Vindaloo, then I highly recommend their Chicken Naga! Superb heat and wonderful flavour, you can really taste that Naga Chilli. Excellent! Plus everything else that others have rated well including a complimentary drink and lovely fresh orange slices.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jay Pur also viewed

Banbury, Oxfordshire
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 
Banbury, Oxfordshire
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Jay Pur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jay Pur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.