We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Celebration” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Wroxton House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Wroxton House Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Wroxton House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Silver Street | Wroxton, Banbury OX15 6QB, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Banbury
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Birthday Celebration”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Nothing was too much trouble, the staff decorated the table for dinner and made the birthday celebration very special as was reception dealing with the birthday cake, a massive thank you.

We dined in the restaurant both nights and as always the food was outstanding and we loved the re-decorated restaurant.

We have stayed here aroung 6 or 7 times and it never ceases to amaze us. Once again a truely relaxing weekend in a beautiful hotel.
Thanks again to all the staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    80
    16
    2
    4
See reviews for
58
249
14
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Stayed here recently for 1 night.Excellent service from an established Professional team. It was evident that owners are continuing to invest in the property with the Restaurant refurbishment being one of the recently completed projects. Rooms clean & comfortable & food quality excellent.Only one gripe & that was room was very cold on arrival with no apparent means of adjusting the radiator as valve control stuck solid.I feel this may have been controlled centrally as "some"heat did briefly appear later that evening.No such luck the following morning!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gill S, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Wroxton House Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for your comments and I'm pleased that on the whole you enjoyed the Valentines Escape.
I am so sorry that your room wasn't warm but I do wish you had mentioned the problem to Reception or the Duty Manager and we would have had the opportunity to rectify the situation straight away. The heating is on constant throughout the winter months so you are probably right in suggesting there was a problem with the radiator valve in your room. We could have attempted to mend the valve ourselves, called out the plumber, moved you to an alternate room or brought in portable heaters.
Please don't suffer in silence we much prefer warm, happy guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night for a business meeting. My room was modern, clean and recently decorated. The bath room was also well decorated but could have been higher standard (vinyl floor not tiles, shower curtain not screen). The meeting room and breakfast room were all well presented and staff were friendly. Breakfast was good quality. The location is only 5 miles from the M40 and 4 miles from Banbury, but it looks and feels as though it is a long way out into the country. Very quiet location if you enjoy a good night's sleep. There is a pub (The White Horse) which is in the CAMRA Good Beer Guide 100 metres away, if you are into real ales.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gill S, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Wroxton House Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
You are obviously a seasoned traveller having left 100 reviews on Tripadvisor so I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at Wroxton House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in April last year and were very pleased with the hotel. Our accommodation was clean, fresh and comfortable. The staff were friendly, cheerful and helpful in every way - and the breakfast was excellent. We really enjoyed our break here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Had a delightful stay, wonderful welcome from Emily, who took the trouble to show us around. Lovely clean and spacious room, breakfast delicious and pipping hot, staff all friendly, happy and smiley. There was a conference going on but didn't affect us in any way. Honestly couldn't find fault with anything. When we needed extra supplies for our room Tracey was only too happy to oblige. Beautifully situated, pretty countryside and plenty of interesting places to visit. If you fancy a few days away, you won't be disappointed with the Wroxton. Definitely going back.

Room Tip: Didn't need to upgrade, standard room excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwater, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We had a really lovely 3 nights away at this hotel for our 52nd Anniversary, on arrival we did request an upgrade, but unfortunately there was not one available. We were so surprised when we saw our room as it was wonderful and large enough and we wonder what we would have got for an upgrade!! Certainly could not have been any better than what we had!! As soon as we entered the hotel we felt a "homely" feel to it, so warm and welcoming, all of the staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was spotless and the decor was very good, we had everything we needed. Our breakfast each morning was 1st class, lovely and hot and very well cooked and presented. We had a bar meal on one of our nights and that was 1st class also and wine was excellent and we thought the price was very good also. All in all a PERFECT STAY and we will recommend to family and friends and hope to go back ourselves in the future. As a bonus it was very quiet in our room also!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomesticGoddess3, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Wroxton House Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments and I'm thrilled we exceeded your expectations and helped to make your anniversary weekend special. I look forward to welcoming you back to Wroxton in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Stayed for one night for business. As we wanted to watch the football we didn't eat in the restaurant but the bar was well stocked and service was good (although it's not at all cheap!).
The room I had was in the extension which meant a dash outside in the rain....despite the weather, the lovely receptionist insisted in showing me to the room. My room was very nice.....comfortable and spacious.
If I'm working in the area again I won't hesitate to stop here again.

Don't rely on sat nav to find the best route though.....mine took me along very narrow country roads!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomesticGoddess3, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Wroxton House Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and I do hope the football result was the one you wanted or you might not have enjoyed your stay quite as much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Wroxton House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Wroxton House Hotel

Address: Silver Street | Wroxton, Banbury OX15 6QB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Banbury
#1 Romantic Hotel in Banbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Wroxton House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Wroxton House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Banbury
Best Western Wroxton Hotel
Banbury Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Wroxton House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.