We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence all round” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Wroxton House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Wroxton House Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Wroxton House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Silver Street | Wroxton, Banbury OX15 6QB, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Banbury
Astwood Bank
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellence all round”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

In March 2013 I attended a wedding at this excellent hotel. The service was impeccable, the food delicious and the decor tasteful and well maintained. Thoroughly recommended for weddings or a short break in the Oxfordshire & Warwickshire countryside.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gill S, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Wroxton House Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thank you for your 5* review. It is always a pleasure to host weddings and see the enjoyment of the guests on the day and I'm delighted that the efforts of the team exceeded your expectations - keep telling everyone you know!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    79
    16
    2
    4
See reviews for
55
249
14
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Stayed 2 snowy nights in Room 6, B+B. The room was very cold, but an effective portable heater was brought up, which solved the problem. The room is in the older part, on the front facade of the hotel on Silver St. We had long icicles in front of our window hanging from the thatched roof. The road is very close, but didn't bother us at all. The view is of fields and trees, and the snow made it picture perfect. The room is small, but very pleasant. Nice decor, very comfy (double) bed, good-sized bathroom. The TV was in an inconvenient position on the wall, and couldn't be adjusted. We could have done with a few more tea bags and milk sachets - i guess we could have asked. There is no fridge or mini-bar. The breakfasts were top-notch - heavenly - sausages were especially yummy, and the marmalade was really tasty. There are a couple of pubs nearby, with blazing log fires, totally authentic, and the village of Wroxton is a hidden gem - so quaint. The Wroxton University building - a Jacobean mansion - is in the village, and you can walk around the grounds if the gates are open - gorgeous, although we nearly froze in the snow. I would recommend this hotel for a quiet getaway in the countryside. The staff were helpful and pleasant; the food was great; this hotel is very good all round.

Room Tip: Room 6 is small and rather sweet, with views across the road to fields and trees. There are 4 steps...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gill S, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Wroxton House Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. It has been a very cold winter and the snow has certainly been a challenge. The heating is always put on early in the day for the rooms which are occupied that evening so I am wondering if you booked on the day or changed rooms when you arrived or perhaps we missed it off our list - it has been known to happen and please do ask if you need any extra supplies of tea/coffee/milk/biscuits which we always keep at reception.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I have just been reading some reviews of this outstanding hotel and I thought it was about time I added my thoughts. My husband and I have visited the hotel 4 times now and it just keeps getting better. We have stayed in the same room (No 16) on each occasion and have come to regard this as "Our room". Unfortunately it isn't but it is a lovely room and although situated at the front of the hotel we have never been bothered by noise from the road outside. The room had been redecorated on our last visit and it was even nicer than it used to be.
All the staff on each visit have been wonderful and on a couple of occasions that my husband had made special requests for flowers and a birthday cake to be in our room at specific times these requests were met without hesitation.
On each of our visits we have used the restaurant and have always found the food well cooked, full of flavour and the menu full of choice to suit all tastes. Breakfasts are also not to be missed.
A wonderful hotel in a lovely part of the country that you would be mad to miss out on if you are ever in the area.
A big thank you to all at Wroxton House for making our stays so special. We will be back again later in the year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gill S, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Wroxton House Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Room 16 is a lovely room with bag's of character and we all have our own favourite. Owning such a quirky and listed building can have it's drawbacks but it never fails to impress in the character stakes. See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittlesey, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed at Wroxton House Hotel for a midweek break from 18 - 22 March 2013, having read previous reviews. We were not disapointed, the location is fine for exploring the north east Cotswolds, and the hotel lived up to all our expectations and more! The accommodation was first class, and our request for a ground floor room with a walk in shower was met with willingness. We had considered trying other local restaurants, but the food was to such a high standard, that to look elsewhere seemed pointless. The staff were so friendly and helpful and could not do enough for us, even to the point that when Jacquie was not feeling to well, and asked if she may have two poached eggs on toast for her evening meal and nothing else they obliged without any fuss, (and very good eggs they were too). Breakfast was suberb and again the staff were most helpful and courteous. The rooms were immaculate. This is without doubt the best place we have stayed and can throughly reccommend it and will return many times, (the Christmas break looks particularly inviting and a must for 2014 we feel). Well done John and Gill, leading from the front, a well drilled and happy team.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to be excellent, if you have special needs, just ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a 2 day break at the Wroxton House Hotel and it was first class. Excellent value for money on our DB&B break.
We had a lovely cream tea on arrival at a time chosen by us and I had ordered champagne to be in the room which it duly was.
Food was superb and Marc, the F&B manager deserves special mention - extremely polite. friendly but professional. The attention to detail was first rate, enabling us to have exactly what we wanted for dinner and nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff.
We visited Banbury, Oxford and Bicester Village during our stay, all within easy driving distance and in the evening were able to relax at the hotel knowing we would be looked after.
A great stay - thank you to the staff.
John & Carolyn

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gill S, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Wroxton House Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
We take great pleasure in knowing that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us and we do appreciate you taking the time and effort to leave your comments. On your next stay with us you may like to visit Stratford upon Avon, Warwick or the gorgeous Cotswold villages on our doorstop. We can always point you in the right direction so hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed here from 1-4th march 2013. The room although not over large was excellently appointed with a large variety of teas, coffes and chocolate drink provide plus bottled water. good shower. The food was most imaginative but also delicious (the two don't always go together. The staff were most helpful friendly without overwhelming you. Even the car was parked for us and we were helped with the luggage. We had been before and will return again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gill S, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Wroxton House Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
I'm so pleased to hear that you had a lovely stay, despite the dreadful weather we have been having. Fortunately there is still plenty of things to do in the area that aren't too weather dependent. Next time you stay you may wish to try one of our Executive Bedrooms which are larger with bigger beds and seating areas. Call us before booking and we will be happy to discuss what we have available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We have stayed at Wroxton House Hotel on a number of occassions and it never fails to disappoint, the room was lovely (although the skylight blind didn't close in room 11) and the food and staff were execellent as always.

Look forward to seeing you all again soon

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gill S, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Wroxton House Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
It's always great to welcome back returning guests, it shows that we must be doing something right.
Room 11 has only just been refurbished and has bags of character, including a window high up in the vaulted ceiling. To overcome this we took advice and installed an automatic blind....so far so good!!! When fitted we discovered it took '10' batteries which last about 3 day's. We have been changing them regularly but obviously not regularly enough and your comment has prompted us to have the electrician in to find a solution to connect it to the mains. So my sincere apologies that it wasn't working when you stayed but thank you for letting us know and it should.....fingers crossed.......now be fully operational.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Wroxton House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Wroxton House Hotel

Address: Silver Street | Wroxton, Banbury OX15 6QB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Banbury
#1 Romantic Hotel in Banbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Wroxton House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Wroxton House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Banbury
Best Western Wroxton Hotel
Banbury Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Wroxton House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.