We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic in every way: tasty and great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Garden

Thai Garden
28-28a Parson's Street, Banbury OX16 5LY, England
01295 709966
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 154 Restaurants in Banbury
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Banbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Authentic in every way: tasty and great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I've visited the family run Thai Garden a few times over the last 3 years, and every time I walk away satisfied. They have a big menu with plenty of choice. A friend's wife is a strict vegetarian and she says they have a great selection for her, which is very refreshing.

This last time I had one of the set menus (like most times before!). You need two or more people to share these. They are great value and the perfect way to try different things. The starters are a variety with satay chicken, Thai fish cakes plus a couple of other things with the obligatory pretty flower shaped carrot. Always feel a bit guilty eating that, it's so cute.

We got the feast without the soup, so we went on to main courses. Plenty of fresh, tasty food. Beef, chicken, vegetables in the separate dishes with some rice in a pot. Everything is served in authentic crockery and cutlery. Good sized portions which are not bland, and more than enough for those sharing.

The set menu comes with a choice of deserts and Thai tea. By the time you finish you've eaten quite a bit, and it arrives at great value, which ever choice meal you go for. Service is efficient and friendly, with more drinks arriving promptly. I love the Chiang beer! Very crisp from the bottle.

All in all, I've never been disappointed with the Thai Garden, and definitely prefer it over the more expensive and 'generic' Thai Orchid, which isn't such good value. Will always be going back - it helps all our friends love it too!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    12
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Didn't live up to the hype”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Been meaning to try this restaurant for ages as we had heard and read good things. The restaurant is small and a little quirky, and there is a very overpowering floral smell which I eventually tracked down to a couple of large white lilies. The service was prompt and friendly, though there was a mistake with the order when the food came with the wrong dish being brought, but our friend settled for it rather than changing to avoid waiting. The food was ok but not at all spicy. All our dishes had been labelled with the two chillies symbol for medium spice, and all were definitely mild. Our friends had been before and felt tonights meal did not live up to usual standards. The phad Thai noodles were also not as nice as the ones at the Thai Orchid round the corner, which uses much finer noodles and are less sloppy. In all - nice setting, disaappointing food. Go round the corner to the Thai Orchid if you want some spice.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My original aim was to go the the more aesthetically flashy Thai next to St Mary's. But the young lady in the pub suggested that this was better. She was indeed correct. Would hate to want to use the loo on a busy night but its homely feel adds to its feel. Best of all the cooking is delightful.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wish We'd Gone Sooner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Having lived in Banbury for a long time, and having tried most of the eateries, we'd missed this one on Parsons Street. Gave it a go recently and was very pleasantly surprised. Went in fairly early on a cold January evening and it was very quiet. Staff were really nice and smiley. We were a party of four, but only the boys ordered starters so it was a really nice touch when we were given four plates without even asking. We then ordered four mains a rice and a noodle dish between us and it was just the right amount, we finished it up, no leftovers, but didn't leave feeling hungry, just happy that we'd ordered wisely. The food itself was delicious and as described on the menu. Two starters, four mains, a rice and a noodle dish, two diet cokes and two beers came to £70, which we thought was good value, By the time we left the restaurant was filling up and we were glad we'd gone in when we had. I would have no hesitation in recommending this restaurant, good service, good food, good price.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Authentic taste and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Food can be tailored to your individual preferences, meaning that the dish can be as hot or as mild as you like!

Friendly, attentive, but always discrete staff at your service.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Garden also viewed

Banbury, Oxfordshire
 
Banbury, Oxfordshire
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Thai Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.