We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oops!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Moon & Sixpence

Moon & Sixpence
Main Street | Hanwell, Banbury OX17 1HW , England
01295 730544
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 154 Restaurants in Banbury
Price range: $22 - $109
Cuisines: English, French, Brasserie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Situated on the outskirts of Banbury in the beautiful North Oxfordshire village of Hanwell, The Moon & Sixpence is a very popular destination.Run by chef Hylton Bradley, the pub's highly trained brigade of cooks and equally trained waiting staff work together to give customers a meal experience second to none.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Oops!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Lovely food but........today it included a small chunk of glass! Fortunately no harm done...but....always check before you chew!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    24
    13
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“DiningGroup-wonderful food and great prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Try this one.....we went for a social meal and ended up having a really great evening with wonderfully trained staff (how often do you get that!) and a selection of meals to interest every one in our eating group at a very resonable price!

The a la carte menu each evening is likened to a four star restaurant with a very good selection of beautifully cooked meals, but the best deal in town is the "Specials" menu with two courses (less than £20.00) or three courses (less than £24.00) ....really excellent food and the staff are very friendly. Children are welcomed and on fine days eating can be outside

The wine by the glass is naturally expensive compared to buying a bottle, most bottles are around £16 to £20 which works out at roughly £3.00 per glass, we recommend the Chilean Merlot or the New Zealand Sauvignon.

Tip top in our opinion, would have scored "EXCELLENT" if table clothes were used, but we notice more and more establishments are saving cost by removing table clothes, but quality of the food and service score "Very GOOD".

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Called in by chance for Sunday lunch..lovely setting and waiting staff efficient. We just wanted 1 course as menu was priced for 2 courses so was made to feel ours was an unusual request. Food was very nice but spoiled by over pricing and a small wine cost £4.95 !

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somewhere in Essex
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“What a find!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We were given a recommendation for this restaurant as we were staying overnight in Banbury. The decor is really pretty and tasteful and there were loads of waiting staff, all eager to please.

We sat near the kitchen and were able to see the preparation of the dishes, which is first class. I had the pork with ginger and apricot stuffing which was absolutely yummy! The portion of pork and potato was a little small but very tasty and came with steamed veg and a delightful sauce.

The downside was that the fans from the kitchen blew on me so it was quite chilly at times.

If you decide to visit be sure to save room for dessert..the lemon meringue and bread pudding are to die for and are visually splendid.

Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Fancied a change”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

On the whole the food was ok but by far the best value is the set menu at £13.95 for 2 courses. Our friend selected this option and the food was very good - we selected the more expensive option and my partners steak in excess of £20.00 was very disappointing. We went here having deliberated where else on the way home from Banbury we could go and yes, we would return but only to the have the set menu that by far is the better option.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moon & Sixpence also viewed

 
Banbury, Oxfordshire
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Moon & Sixpence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moon & Sixpence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.