We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gate House Bed & Breakfast

Gate House Bed & Breakfast
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Gate House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Gate House Bed & Breakfast
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   65 Main Road | Middleton Cheney, Banbury OX17 2LU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 38 Banbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hastings, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Another great break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We have had another wonderful time with Debbie she is a wonderful hostess and always makes you fell at home. Her breakfasts are always lovely she offers something different than just the usual full english! Lovely apricots soaked in lemon with yogurt, fishcakes yummy can't wait until next year to sample some more. Warm, comfortable bed too.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    15
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
73
33
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pontypool
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Just returned to the Gate House - for a longer stay this time. The welcome from Debbie was again fantastic - nothing is ever too much trouble. The food is as good as the welcome with a wide choice for breakfast, and all cooked beautifully. One again the room was spotless and equipped with the little touches which I have never found in any other establishment (whatever the size and rating). Already planning my next visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed here in June 2012. We were going to arrive late but this was no problem at all for Debbie who is laid back and easy going. Not that there is anything laid back about the way this B &B is run. It is immaculate and beautifully and tastefully furnished and nothing is too much trouble. Debbie is a warm and caring person who genuinely likes people. We loved it. The village is beautiful as well and well worth a wander around. We would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolgellau, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

A lovely B&B, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. We had booked to stay at the Gatehouse for 4 nights but unfortunately I fell whilst out walking and fractured my elbow on the very first night! Debbie could not have been more helpful and considerate. She even drove ahead of us for a few miles so that my friend who had to drive my car home could take the quietest route! And I enjoyed the scrumptious breakfast despite the pain in my elbow! We shall certainly be back!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed for five nights and just couldn't have been more pleased with the quality of the room, facilities and service. Debbie was especially thoughtful and helpful. The food is all locally sourced and, as a result of the careful preparation by Debbie and her helper, it was delicious! We did not have the en suite bathroom but that didn't trouble us at all as it was completely private and to my complete delight, it had thoroughly modern plumbing and the best soaking tub with plenty of hot water. Thank you Debbie for making our trip effortless and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invergordon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Brilliant B&B. Very warm welcome. Room very comfortable, breakfast was very good. Good selection, locally sourced. We were attending a family funeral. It was lovely to come to such a peaceful house after the funeral. Thank you Debbie for such a comfortable stay. More B&B owners should be like Debbie

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

What a fantastic b&b. I stayed the night before an interview at the local school and had a great nights sleep! Service from Debbie friendly, nothing too much and yet not at all obtrusive. Room and bathroom spotless and very comfortable. Breakfast delicious and above the standard you would expect from a b&b. Thank you Debbie for a great stay and your kind lift in the morning! Also.. I GOT THE JOB!!! Xxx ps. The safety question came up, thanks!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gate House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gate House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 65 Main Road | Middleton Cheney, Banbury OX17 2LU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Banbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gate House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tourist board 4 Star, totally refurbished 18th century house in a village conservation area on the Oxon/Northants border, just 4 miles from the center of Banbury. All rooms are centrally heated and have freesat television & radio, DVD/CD player, free high speed internet access, tea & coffee making facilities, fridge and hair dryer. Ideally situated for visiting Silverstone, Oxford, Stratford-Upon-Avon, Warwick Castle, Bicester Village , Blenheim Palace and The Cotswolds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Gate House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gate House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.