We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banbury Cross Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Banbury Cross Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Banbury Cross Bed & Breakfast
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1 Broughton Road | Oxon, Banbury OX16 9QB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 38 Banbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I've stayed in many B&B's and this has to rate as one of the best B&B's I've stayed in. Friendly and welcoming hosts make you feel at home. Spacious room with traditional but luxurious furniture with a big comfortable and warm bed, bode well for a good night's sleep. All followed up by a great breakfast. All in all, so good I didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michbar, Owner at Banbury Cross Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Wow, what a lovely review Ali, thank you so much. It was lovely to meet with you, short and sweet stay, but hopefully you'll be back again. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
38
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ashburton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

During an unplanned visit to Banbury en route from Rutland to Gloucester we asked a couple in the street if they knew of a place to stay the night. By pure chance it was the Scarsbrook's! They invited us to stay at their 'Banbury Cross B&B'. We took a quick look (seemed too good to be true) and said yes without hestitation. The room was amazing. Great breakfast too. This is a luxury B&B at a sensible price. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: We only saw the ground floor room (first room on the left) it was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michbar, Owner at Banbury Cross Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Hi David it was nice to meet you and Frances. Thank you so much for your lovely review, much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

A wonderful house, beautifully furnished. The hosts are friendly and welcoming. Our room was spacious and immaculately clean, as was the whole house. Breakfast is cooked individually for you. Free parking, short work to the town center.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michbar, Owner at Banbury Cross Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you so much for your review, I appreciate you taking the time. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I stayed at Banbury Cross B&B for 1 night, beautifully restored Victorian House.
Really good nights sleep with rooms kept to a very high standard
Excellent breakfast apart from the Coffee; I get a better cupper from the vending machine at work !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michbar, Owner at Banbury Cross Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Hi Lee, thank you for your review. I am sorry you didn't enjoy our coffee. On the menu there is a choice of cafetiere, decaf or instant. You can have hot or cold milk with these. If you had told me at the time that the coffee was too weak or too strong, or you would of preferred instant, then I would have tried to make it to your liking. I hope you will come back one day and we can try again. But thank you for not letting the coffee spoil the whole experience for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verwood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

A beautifully restored Victorian House in the centre of Banbury. A great B&B for business or pleasure close to Oxford and the Cotswolds as well as "Bicester Village" designer outlets. Michelle has made the rooms very comfortable to an exeptionally high standard in keeping with the period of the house. We are also made very welcome and look forward to a great traditional breakfast. We would recommend the home made Jam and Marmalade.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michbar, Owner at Banbury Cross Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you Geoff for your lovely review, we pride ourselves on making our home comfortable and clean and our breakfasts a good start to the day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Beautiful maintained and decorated accomodation with excellent breakfasts. Highly recommended. Not sure why this website requires 200 characters.
Beautiful maintained and decorated accomodation with excellent breakfasts. Highly recommended. Not sure why this website requires 200 characters.

Room Tip: very quiet at the back - do not know about the front, but is close to a reasonably major road
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michbar, Owner at Banbury Cross Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Hello Peter, so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed at Banbury Cross for just the one night and would have been happy to have stayed for longer.
Lovely spotlessly clean B&B. Very spacious bedroom, with everything you need from toiletries to tea and coffee.
Very comfortable double bed with lovely fresh white linen. Really good nights sleep.
Excellent breakfast menu, the full english is delicious! All freshly cooked.
Location is good, about 5mins from town centre.
Michelle is great, really friendly.
Very good value for money, would definitely stay here again if I was in the Banbury area.
Gail & Simon Jones

Thanks!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michbar, Owner at Banbury Cross Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you so much for the lovely review, very much appreciated. I hope to see you again in the future. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banbury Cross Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banbury Cross Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1 Broughton Road | Oxon, Banbury OX16 9QB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Banbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Banbury Cross Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banbury Cross B&B, is a family home offering bed and breakfast accommodation. We pride ourselves on good service, high standard of cleanliness and very good value for money. There are 7 rooms, double, twins, singles and a family room. We serve freshly cooked breakfasts, just the way you like it. We offer ample free off road parking and free wi-fi. We have a beautiful garden/patio also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Banbury Cross Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banbury Cross Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.