We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy location; but good breakfast!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Banbury M40 Jct.11

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Banbury M40 Jct.11 to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Banbury M40 Jct.11
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ermont Way | Stroud Park, Banbury OX16 4AE, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Banbury
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Handy location; but good breakfast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

Basic room, shower not bath, bed awful (Please renew the mattress! I hate sinking in the middle!!) Very handy location and the windows do open. All in all, perfectly adequate for an overnight stop.
The buffet, do-it-yourself breakfast was a revelation: good quality food and plenty of it. Well done Holiday Inn Express Banbury!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    149
    35
    11
    4
See reviews for
72
79
20
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seaham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

I had booked a family room as we have a 7 year old but also requested that it had disabled access as I use a wheelchair. When we checked in we were informed that they don't actually have family rooms with disabled access so had given us two adjoining rooms (which my daughter was thrilled with). The rooms were very clean and spacious as were the bathrooms.
The breakfast was described as continental but was amazing with bacon and eggs one day and sausage and eggs the next as well as a huge selection of cereals, pastries, yoghurts etc.
I would definitely stay here again and made a perfect base for exploring Warwick Castle, Stratford-upon-Avon etc.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
150 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

This hotel is very clean throughout and our room was furnished in the corporate Holiday Inn Express style. We noticed that "Complimentary High Speed Wired Internet access" is available in bedrooms and although we did not use this facility it will be beneficial to many. This hotel is located just off Junction 11 of the M40 and is just mintes from the attractive centre of town. It was nice to take time out watching the narrowboats on the Oxford canal. The town centre has many interesting shops and additionally the modern Castle Quay Shopping Centre is the best place for parking the car.
There is a Toby Carvery and a Frankie & Benny`s Restaurant next to the hotel which is very convenient. We had been on a touring holiday of the South and would have liked to have seen a wide range of leaflets available in the hotel featuring attractions and places of interest to visit in the area. In the event only one leaflet featuring Broughton Castle was available in the hotel for guests.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireCowlishaw, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Banbury M40 Jct.11, responded to this review, September 1, 2010
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor and I am very pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay.

We do generally have a good selection of Tourist Information leaflets available in the hotel and I will ensure that these are kept updated at all times to ensure that our guests have good information to hand on the many places their are to visit when using Banbury as a touring base.

Kind regards

David Reading
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duns
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

We stayed the night before going to the local Cropredy musical festival along with quite a few other aged folk and rock fans. The hotel local is extremely convenient, right on the A40 and outside the door is a pub and a Frankie and Benny's diner. The hotel is very modern and spacious, rooms are large with efficent and quiet air-conditioning, nice loos/showers, and several choices of TV channels. The reception staff were extremely helpful, printed me out a map, booked an extra room and very trustingly let me borrow 2 pillows to take to the festival as I'd forgotten to bring ours! This was all done at the same time as they were flitting from reception area to dining room to help serve breakfast. And that's a hot breakfast by the way, not just continental.
Ten out of ten from us!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireCowlishaw, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Banbury M40 Jct.11, responded to this review, September 1, 2010
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review of our hotel.

We are very proud of the high standards of Customer Servive we offer and our friendly team have been recognised on many occasions for going the extra mile to ensure our guests' stay is special.

We have recently improved our Breakfast offering to include hot items of scrambled egg and either bacon or sausages.

Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards

David Reading
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

Excellent location for the "Motor Racing Triangle", just look in the car park. Good eating places on site, Tetley Bitter...Reception very quick and friendly, rooms to their normal comfortable standard, no bath though. Their "bean-counters" have taken as many costs out of the business as possible...Breakfast was varied and good. Book with confidence!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
switzerland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

We found this hotel to be generally clean but a little lacking to attention from front desk staff when requesting that items such as toiletries to be topped up in the bathroom and especially after asking three times. The breakfast croissants in the morning in the heated units had become almost like "flakey rock cakes". The main problem we had was with the beds, I would recommend having two single beds, since the double beds role into the middle therefore they are either heavily worn out or the bed is of poor quality. The staff a generally very polite at check in and check out.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gelleburn, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Banbury M40 Jct.11, responded to this review, July 11, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
If we did not get feedback from guests then we would not know where to improve.
I have looked through your comments and will take up the issues relating to our reception team with them to ensure that all requests are carried out efficiently.
As for breakfast I can only apologise for the quality of the croissants. We have recently changed supplier and we have reported back the issues with them.
The beds in the hotel are only two years old and regularly turned to ensure even wear but I will investigate and see if any need replacing.
I hope that these issues will not deter you from returning to Banbury in the future.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north west
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2010

Booked family room for overnight stay as its located just off the motorway, enabling us to resume our journey the following morning without any fuss. Nothing but praise for the hotel - have never stayed at a Holiday Inn before and was a little hesitant but shouldnt have worried. Check-in was the easiest and quickest I've experienced, room was large, clean and much better than I expected. Cavery and Frankie and Bennies on same site - ideal for families. The breakfast the following morning was better than alot of the expensive paid for breakfasts in other chains. Nothing but praise for this hotel. I've stayed in hotels around the world and never written a review but felt compelled as this hotel definately provided the best value for money I've experienced. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gelleburn, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Banbury M40 Jct.11, responded to this review, May 31, 2010
I am pleased that you found our hotel to be of such good value that you decided to tell everyone about it on Trip Advisor.
We try to provide a clean, friendly, well run hotel and your comments will be passed on to the rest of the team.
We are finding a lot of families are trying Holiday Inn Express for the first time and are really impressed with the service and product.
Hope to see you soon.

Andy Gelleburn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Banbury M40 Jct.11? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Banbury M40 Jct.11

Address: Ermont Way | Stroud Park, Banbury OX16 4AE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Banbury
#4 Romantic Hotel in Banbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Banbury M40 Jct.11 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on junction 11 of the M40, Holiday Inn Express Banbury is one of the newest hotels in Banbury. The hotel has 120 en-suite rooms with air-conditioning throughout the hotel. In addition, we offer complimentary high speed wired internet access in all the bedrooms and wireless internet access in meeting rooms and public areas. We are one of the few hotels in Banbury to offer free internet access! Our complimentary 'Express Start' buffet breakfast with hot items of Sausage, scrambled egg and beans is included for all guests. The Holiday Inn Express Banbury also has four well equipped meeting rooms which can accommodate up to 70 people. With easy access to the M40 and just minutes from Banbury town centre - you're not far away from things to see and do in the local area. Drive into town to see the famous Banbury Cross or take a short drive to Stratford upon Avon and experience the wonders of the Bard! This Banbury hotel is also a great location if you are planning to visit Banbury Museum, Blenheim Palace, Hook Norton Brewery, Broughton Castle or Ryehill Golf Club & Conference Centre and the Motor Heritage Centre at Gaydon. We are also only twenty minutes drive from Silverstone Race Circuit - the home of British motor racing and the venue for British F1 Grand Prix and MotoGP. The Holiday inn Express hotel is also in close proximity to Oxford and Warwick. Adjacent to the hotel is Frankie and Benny's restaurant and a Toby Carvery restaurant - so you won't go hungry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Banbury M40 Jct.11 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Banbury m40 Jct.11 Hotel Banbury
Holiday Inn Banbury
Banbury Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Banbury M40 Jct.11, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.