We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“traffic noise was a major issue” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Banbury M40 Jct.11

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Banbury M40 Jct.11 to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Banbury M40 Jct.11
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ermont Way | Stroud Park, Banbury OX16 4AE, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Banbury
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“traffic noise was a major issue”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I can understand why such hotels are located nearby motorway junctions but they really should invest in triple glazing and sound-proofing as the 'swish' from traffic can become really annoying. This hotel is no exception - it is situated by a mediocre pub and a Frankie & Benny's but also next to the M40.

The good points were that the breakfast was good (despite there being no bacon), the bed comfortable, the bathroom well designed and clean, and the staff quite helpful (I changed rooms to try to avoid being disturbed by traffic noise).

Room Tip: ask for a room that does not face the busy road and take some ear plugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBanbury, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Banbury M40 Jct.11, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are pleased to inform you that we are in the process of installing triple glazing in a number of our rooms that overlook the motorway junction which will stop the issue of noise.

We are pleased that you enjoyed all other aspects of your stay and that the staff here looked after you well. As a Holiday Inn Express we offer complimentary ‘Express Start’ buffet breakfast which is a continental selection along with hot items of sausages, scrambled egg and baked beans.

We look forward to being able to welcome you back soon.

David Reading
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    149
    35
    11
    4
See reviews for
72
79
20
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed at this hotel 5/2/2013, good value for money, staff very good and helpful.
Breakfast was enjoyable, plenty to choose from, unless your a really picky eater,
I'm picky but l found something to my taste, i'd most certainly use this Hotel again.
Thankyou to all the staff for making it so enjoyable.
Very good stay for my onward journey to Southampton

Room Tip: We had a room at the front of the Hotel room 2 it was quiet and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

An excellent hotel for a comfortable night stop. We (2 adults, 1 child) stopped here for a night on a journey down from Scotland. We booked the 21 day advance purchase rate and felt it was excellent value for money. The room and bathroom was fresh and clean. Nice TV. Tea and coffee making tray in the room and a small bar near reception. In the morning there was a reasonable choice of options for breakfast. Staff were pleasant. Very easy access on to M40 but not too close. Just what we needed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Stayed on a business trip to North London, couldnt face the full drive the day before. So night stopped in banbury a 25 min drive from my final destination. Great location for the outskirts of London/ and London airports. Directly off the M40 Banbury junction. Can see the hotel from the motorway, so no problems getting lost. Although hotel does not have a restaurant or room service facility itself, there is a frankie and beny's i think it was? just across the car park. Plus a big tesco is just down the road. Reception staff, friendly and informative. Helped me with printing documents i needed for my meeting thee following day. No charge, bonus! Rooms, comfy but basic. Quiet room, no disturbance. Checked out early so did not partake in the free continental breakfast. Ideal for a quick simple night stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Recently stayed here when visiting family. Room was clean and comfortable. The hairdryer didn't work but when I phoned reception they brought another one straight up to my room almost before I had put the phone down.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

i had to use this hotel twice in the last two weeks at short notice and on both occasions needed my breakfast at 5am the staff said no problem sir and they were good for their word serving my breakfast with a smile and also checked me out while having breakfast so not holding me up. so highly recomend

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

We've stayed here twice as quick stopover on our way south. This time it was as good as last time. Very clean hotel with friendly staff. We got a slightly biggerroom as PriorityClub members, and everything was made up ready for our arrival. Would recommend this hotel, especially if stopping over on a long trip as it's right off the motorway roundabout.

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Banbury M40 Jct.11? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Banbury M40 Jct.11

Address: Ermont Way | Stroud Park, Banbury OX16 4AE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Banbury
#4 Romantic Hotel in Banbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Banbury M40 Jct.11 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on junction 11 of the M40, Holiday Inn Express Banbury is one of the newest hotels in Banbury. The hotel has 120 en-suite rooms with air-conditioning throughout the hotel. In addition, we offer complimentary high speed wired internet access in all the bedrooms and wireless internet access in meeting rooms and public areas. We are one of the few hotels in Banbury to offer free internet access! Our complimentary 'Express Start' buffet breakfast with hot items of Sausage, scrambled egg and beans is included for all guests. The Holiday Inn Express Banbury also has four well equipped meeting rooms which can accommodate up to 70 people. With easy access to the M40 and just minutes from Banbury town centre - you're not far away from things to see and do in the local area. Drive into town to see the famous Banbury Cross or take a short drive to Stratford upon Avon and experience the wonders of the Bard! This Banbury hotel is also a great location if you are planning to visit Banbury Museum, Blenheim Palace, Hook Norton Brewery, Broughton Castle or Ryehill Golf Club & Conference Centre and the Motor Heritage Centre at Gaydon. We are also only twenty minutes drive from Silverstone Race Circuit - the home of British motor racing and the venue for British F1 Grand Prix and MotoGP. The Holiday inn Express hotel is also in close proximity to Oxford and Warwick. Adjacent to the hotel is Frankie and Benny's restaurant and a Toby Carvery restaurant - so you won't go hungry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Banbury M40 Jct.11 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Banbury m40 Jct.11 Hotel Banbury
Holiday Inn Banbury
Banbury Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Banbury M40 Jct.11, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.